A short one before a promising trip.
Tuesday, 11.13.2012 - 5:34 pm.

I'm hopping on a bus at 11 pm with Andrew and my friend Anita. I'm going to Vi�a del Mar! We'll be there at 9 am tomorrow and at noon I have my first presentation at the national psychology congress. I have yet to rehearse the timing, and since it's my thesis, I'm a little reluctant. I'm not sure how well done it is, but I have no professor to teach me*. Boo-hoo.

[*I can't count on him for other than telling me that he does not agree with my conclusions and we should run structural equations to, basically, find what he wants to find. He's had my thesis project for a year and a half and apparently he hasn't noticed that it was not part of the analysis plan. I have no idea how one runs structural equations. I have to submit my thesis this week and that's all he has to say]

The congress is in Valparaiso and we're renting an apartment in Vi�a. It looks great from the pictures, we have a room with a view to the sea. Of course, fuck the congress, I want to go sightseeing. It'll be a little hard, since Andrew has two presentations, one with me, so I have two, too. And Anita has another one, and everything at different hours. We'll have to make the schedules work.

Oh, and I'm meeting with a friend from high school. Incidentally, this month is our 10th graduation anniversary. Man!

Anita and I picked up two puppies last week. Her boyfriend, a good friend of Andrew's and all-around nice guy drove me and the puppies to my friend's vet clinic. I'm so lucky, a few days later a couple showed up looking for puppies to adopt, and they took both puppies home yesterday. I say I'm lucky because even though I get in trouble when I pick up puppies off the street (six by now, counting the two babies I raised), I don't have that much trouble finding them a home quickly, after they've been checked and spayed/neutered. My friend Karin helps me too, giving me discounts but I feel a little embarrassed about that. I always walk in with more work for her. I know she makes a living out of it but she already has a bunch of patients (including my cats). At least this time I convinced her not to give me the discount, because Anita and I are splitting the bill. Good Girl Simeon's Twin pays what the work is worth.

So anyway. This is a very lame update but it's all I can do, for I have to go practice my speech and finish packing. I hope it's an awesome trip, it sure looks like it will be.

prev / next