Paperwork, family and writing.
Sunday, 01.13.2013 - 2:53 pm.

All's going well. I've solved paperwork requirements faster than expected and right now it's a matter of waiting. I'm pretty optimistic about all this, although I'm sure there will be a few bumps along the way. I hope I can sort them out if they do arise, but so far so good.

I had a somewhat horrible week though, emotionally speaking. By now it's no use dwelling on it, but on one hand, I was making small mistakes regarding paperwork and feeling so stupid, and on the other hand, I was dealing with my family and the arrangements for my february trip with Andrew. The first one was me making small mistakes that made me lose time but hey, I have plenty of time this month.

Then I was overwhelmed by my family's expectations (e.g. my mom: why am I not staying at home and instead I'm staying with my boyfriend in a rented place when we're not married?) and the expectations I think they have. There was some objective tension, yes, but maybe I let it get to me more than I should have. At the beggining of the week I was thinking of killing myself because a lot of things about the paperwork and my family seemed so uphill and unfair.

It's silly by now. Andrew is not afraid of my family (he's nervous about meeting them I suppose but doesn't show) and wrote a wonderful e-mail to my parents about who he was, his background and what he does for a living. My parents seemed pleased with it and forwarded it to my siblings (my dad does that). Brother #1 wrote Andrew back with a short autobiography that made us laugh hard. And that was a huge gesture on his part that made me really happy. So, over the days things have calmed down and my parents are trying to be at peace with my leaving the nest, and them, as my siblings, have been nothing but supportive of me.

Aside from taking care of those matters, which takes just a few hours of my day really, I spend my days reading and writing. Whatever I did to deserve the gift ot time, I don't know, but I'm grateful for it (I am looking forward to getting a job though). The more I write...well, the more I write. I'm reading science and literature and I've been keeping up with my two blogs, my Simeon comic strip AND the Joseph story, which is almost done as a draft I consider more or less adequate to show to one skilled reader to put it to the test. I still think it's kind of dumb and I'm afraid it's not an interesting reading and yet I like it. Maybe I'm just comparing it to the first manuscript that was crap.

Unrelated: 12 years ago there was an earthquake that wiped out a few streets outside the capital. Nothing happened in my area, thankfully, but I remember the horror.

Ok, bye.

prev / next