Some sort of dumb sacrifice.
Friday, 11/02/01 - 9:25 p.m..

I'm determined not to leave you alone during the whole vacation, so be prepared....I love you lots. It's the first e-mail Fidel writes me this year. Sweet, huh? Short but really sweet. I know we'll be in touch the whole vacation.

I went to bed last night, and the guy didn't call. I woke up very early today. As if I had school. I couldn't get back to sleep, so I started studying the easiest subjects (social studies, psychology and english). Today is a holiday, so everybody was at home, except for Alan, because doctors do not take holidays off. It was almost 12 o'clock and the phone rang. Yes, it was him. He thanked me for the small package, that I really told him the things in his fuckin' face, but that it was ok. I was relieved. We had a short conversation, mostly about the exams and the schedule. Ok. So he still talks to me.

I looked over the social studies topics for the exam....I laughed my ass off. I don't need to study for that. I looked over the english topics...same thing. I mean, c'mon...I speak it here everyday, and I don't think I do it *that bad*. But anyway...I typed in Word the whole summary about social studies, and sent it to Norm & Denver. Denver had sent me the Science topics for this past exam. I owed him one, he saved me. Later on, I thought: hey, why not sending it to the guy also?. Yeah, oh, so very clever. We had just talked and I couldn't think about it before. After we hung up, I thought I'd call him on tuesday to wish him luck...then I said that I'd better call him on monday and ask him if he already got the social studies objectives and if he hadn't, I'd send them to him. Then....naaaah, I'll call him tonight. And I came up with another idea....since he's doing really bad at english, too...why not sending him the english summary? Ok...I came up with those ideas at about 12:30. I started working on the english shit at about 1:30....144 idioms and 14 tenses...it was 3:30 and I wasn't done yet. I mean, I had to look for them in my papers and notebooks...then pass them to the computer so I can email them to him.

3:45...parental unit wanted to go for a family ride. I didn't want to go but I ended up going. Carlos, and both parental units. When I felt the wind in my face, I got happy and I just enjoyed the time. We went to a coffee shop. For some strange reason, there was a lot of dusk and the volcano was nowhere to be seen. It didn't reach us though.

Oh, yes. There's a World Trade Center here, too. I saw it while we were driving up (the coffee shop is on the way up a hill). What a surprise. A miserable 4-story building. But is not that miserable. Fuck, it is elegant. It's for the oligarchy. The almighty selfish gods of this country, who keep all the good shit to themselves while in a poor neighborhood occurs a massacre. That happened last night. 10 people murdered. It was a drug thing or something. There are no witnessess, except for three kids. And the oldest is 3 years old. I guess this all is part of the 3rd world country folklore.

Anyway, after the oh, so charming moment with my family, we got back home. Frog was waiting for us. The poor beast...she hurt one of her nails and it's about to fall. I have to carry her most of times. But she doesn't say a word about it, so I guess she's ok with that.

I got back to typing idioms. 6:30, I was done. I'd studied 3 subjects today. So I have supper and I call him. I offer to e-mail him those things and he says yes. He was euphoric about it, I could tell that. He said thank you with such passion or something...I could picture him jumping. I did a lot of effort for him. I worked the whole afternoon (almost) just to help him. I'm sending the files to several people since I already have them in my computer...would you want me to send them to you?...but that was not true. I worked the whole afternoon just for him. He's the only person to whom I e-mailed those things. Of course, I wasn't going to tell him that. I love him so much. I don't know if I'm still in love with him, but I love him. Yet I do that for (almost) everybody. I realized that after we hung up. I do my best to get what someone needs (even if it takes me hours and even if they haven't asked me) and I give it to them. They never notice how hard I worked but that's ok. The smile and the thank you's I get are simply priceless. Like today. I worked the whole afternoon...and he said thank you. I made him happy. I can live in peace now.

Y'know what's the best thing out of this? I got his e-mail address. And he'll get mine. That's a huge bonus. I won't write him though, because it's the "family e-mail", it's just for the family bussiness. But just the fact that I have it makes all of the work even more worthy.

On the other hand, I'm worried about him. He needs a really good grade in math and english. If he fails, he's going to summer school...if he fails summer school....he's out. That simple. I don't want that to happen. Even if we're never together, I don't want him to get thrown out of school.

I just watched The Three Stooges. Fuck, they're fabulous. I'd been watching them for three seconds and I was already rolling on the floor....well, I was mostly howling silently. Alan says that I should turn up the volume of my laughter. Most of times when I laugh, I truly look like a mime...I'm laughing to tears...but in mute. Hell, at least my laughter is not annoying. But I wish it sounded more Tyler-ish. I love Steven's laugh.

Ok, tomorrow's saturday.....duh. I'm starting the hard stuff tomorrow...philosophy, language...and math. Fuck math. That's my big plan for the weekend. To study. I know it sucks, but my dad bought me the plane ticket already...I'm leaving on the 24th, at 8:50 a.m....which means, I'm leaving home at 4:30 a.m. The ticket brought me memories...it's the same ticket (it has the same image) as last year. I remember last year...I was looking at it with tears in my eyes, because I knew I was going to fail math...I did fail it. But school gave another chance. I'll talk about that other day. I'm tired of being in front of the computer.

I hope my guy succeeds......I don't know why I keep refering to him as "mine".....

I know I didn't mention Simeon this time...he took the day off. He's with Elvis today.

Dear Steven, I hope you get well soon. I'm really worried about you. Please, take care of yourself. I love you.

(as if he's going to read this, but anyway...it comes from my heart).

prev / next