Of recovery, my nephew and Simeon.
Monday, 03/03/03 - 2:54 pm.

Subject: don't say things like that...please...
NO,NO,NO,NO, NO ----- PLEASE, NEVER SLIT YOUR WRISTS, NOR ANY OTHER PART OF YOUR BODY....CAUSE I LOVE YOU A LOOOOT......
WITH ALL THE LOVE OF THE UNIVERSE, YOUR MOMMY: ANGITA

I don't remember saying anything like that to her (Angie, the friend I met at the UCA). In words of John Lennon: Soft, isn't it?. How sweet of her.

On that topic, and to be honest, it's been some time since I cut myself. And it seems highly unlikely that I'll do it again anytime soon, at least out of brokenheartedness (I may do it out of boredom and anger, but that's another subject...that's more about me than about somebody else). Because although my life is terribly dull at the moment, and I'm not very thrilled with the near future either, my issues with D don't bother me anymore. I don't cry for him anymore. I don't think of him for more than 5 minutes everyday, and if I do, it's just to think how lame he is.

Off-topic, I love Frog *heart*

I start college on thursday, from 4 to 8 (pm, of course). The only thing that really sucks about my schedule is that now I won't get to see my nephew except for weekends. And just ONE day of the weekend, be it saturday or sunday. I told him, and he only hugged me and said "nooo!". I was already used to see him everyday, or every two days....eight days a week, so to speak. We have a lot of fun together, he's a funny little kid. Too funny and witty to be 6 years old. He knows Yellow Submarine dialogues and Beatles songs by heart and you wouldn't believe all the many faces he can make (he's like Jim Carrey at that) and impersonating whichever charachter he thinks of (and the ones I ask for). He's just hyperactive, he can't even remain sit while watching TV...and if he manages to, he's biting his nails. I'm going to miss him so.

I've returned to my idea of becoming an animator. I've been reading a lot about comic strips, and I'd like to give it a shot. I know it hurts. I'll probably be turned down, but I have to try. For Simeon. Because he's amazing.

It's going to take a lot of time before I even dare to give it a shot, but I've already started working on it. I don't care how long I have to wait, but I'll give it a shot.

The first problem is Simeon himself. I've been asked the question before, I know I'll be asked the question in the future, and I know it's a logical question, but....damn. The question is: "why does he have no clothes on?"

Of all animated beings on this planet, the human race is the ony kind that cover their body. Well, Simeon isn't part of the human race, ok? He might look like one, but he isn't. He has nothing to cover, anyway.

And then the next logical question is: "but why do the other charachters DO have clothes on?". Well, some people make their dogs wear dumb little t-shirts.

The "other charachters" aren't dogs, but I made them wear clothes so that Simeon would stand out. Besides, those are just accesories to give them a different personality to each of them. (Simeon claims he has such a strong personality that he doesn't need any accesories, but he should confess that sometimes even he needs something to remark something, so he puts his head in a paperbag).

I always had people questioning me why I'd done this or that in a cartoon. It's nice when they do it out of curiosity and interest, but mostly they just do it to annoy.

Anyway...as much as I love the way Simeon looks, that's not "mainstream". He's not very mass-appealing at first sight, and the first impression is what counts. Besides, anybody could draw him. Cel said Simeon looks great the way he's always been, "he's not hypocrite like Donald Duck", who wears no pants but wears a towel when he comes out of the shower.

So I'm thinking of working on his alter ego and make him wear a wig and pants. I think he looks neat, and he doesn't seem to have any problem with that. That's what I like about him, he's very easy to work with.

prev / next