What everybody's talking about.
Thursday, 03/20/03 - 10:09 pm.

Today in history:
34 years ago John Lennon and Yoko Ono are married in Gibraltar (1969).
31 years ago Ringo Starr releases the second of his seven Top Ten singles, "Back Off, Boogaloo," produced by George Harrison (1972).
1999 - A set of postage stamps commemorating what would have been the 30th wedding anniversary of John Lennon and Yoko Ono is issued in Gibraltar.

This day in particular, I've been wondering what would be happening if John Lennon was still alive. I wonder what he'd be doing against war.

I'm tired of this war talk, and it's been just a day or so. I for one am anti-war. Because countries are run by a dozen of people. They are the ones who hate another dozen, from another country. They should fight the war themselves. Not send soldiers, the poor soldiers. Like they had something to do there. It is very brave to defend your country like that, but I wonder...I wonder.

The civilians have a life of their own, you know? They pay bills and raise children, I think they're too busy to "hate" another country.

Well, that's all I say because I don't feel like ranting about it, and I'm sure you appreciate that, given that I'm a pacifist (so bomb me).

Give Peace A Chance
(John Lennon & Paul McCartney)

Two, one two three four
Ev'rybody's talking about
Bagism, Shagism, Dragism, Madism, Ragism, Tagism
This-ism, that-ism, is-m, is-m, is-m.

All we are saying is give peace a chance
All we are saying is give peace a chance

C'mon
Ev'rybody's talking about Ministers,
Sinisters, Banisters and canisters
Bishops and Fishops and Rabbis and Pop eyes,
And bye bye, bye byes.

All we are saying is give peace a chance
All we are saying is give peace a chance

Let me tell you now
Ev'rybody's talking about
Revolution, evolution, masturbation,
flagellation, regulation, integrations,
meditations, United Nations,
Congratulations.

All we are saying is give peace a chance
All we are saying is give peace a chance

Ev'rybody's talking about
John and Yoko, Timmy Leary, Rosemary,
Tommy Smothers, Bobby Dylan, Tommy Cooper,
Derek Taylor, Norman Mailer,
Alan Ginsberg, Hare Krishna,
Hare, Hare Krishna

All we are saying is give peace a chance
All we are saying is give peace a chance
.

prev / next