About the brother and a mood ring coincidence?
Saturday, 07/26/03 - 1:34 pm.

Yes, my brother arrived last night. It took him a long time to meet with us. We (his family) were thinking the worse.

Maybe he missed the flight. Maybe the authorities recognized him. Maybe they won't let them in the country. Maybe he's been locked in, and is in the middle of an interrogatory, and cops from the government are beating the crap out of him because of what he's done.

But no, it was just the crappy airport politics. A lot of flights arrived at the same time.

He brought me a stretch shirt, three pairs of sleeping socks (three-thumbs-up comfort, yo') and a MOOD RING! But it's not the typical ring like the one I have right one, with the stone in the middle. It's just a ring with dolphins around, and the whole ring changes color *heart*

It's really handy, I tell you. My niece wanted a mood ring, and the mister who sells them outside the UCA wasn't there the day we went. I seriously started to think I should give her mine. You know, "get over yourself, she's a little girl, you wanted one at her age, she's a little bitch at times, but so are you, and you know that you love her and that if you don't give it to her you will regret it when you see her ringless hand waving at you before she gets on the plane".

Coincidence? Is it a coincidence that right when I thought of giving away my much appreciated mood ring a new one came my way?

Either way. I don't want to get rid of that mood ring because it's really special to me, but I will give it to her. I want the ring, but I want to see her happy, too. Something really important in life is being aware of the priorities (to clear any remaining doubts, her happiness is a priority to me, over the fact of owning a waterdrop-shaped mood ring).

I woke up this morning realizing today would be an empty day. The three kids are gone to the beach. I have nothing specific to do. Everything has suddenly stopped. I'm terrified to think this is what life will be like when the kids are gone back to the USA.

I wish I could be like my brother. In this four-month trip (that was supposedly for two weeks) he went to New York, Washington and Houston. He met a lot of people, made the local newspapers over there (because he was on a "mission", you know?), visited museums and all kinds of landmarks. I don't know where he got the money to survive (my dad would always ask him if he needed and he'd said he was doing just fine...and he was), and even managed to bring presents for everybody.

I can only listen to his well-defined plans about his future. How he struggles and creates a road as he walks. How he never gives up and always finds another way if the one he wants is closed.

Meanwhile, back to the ranch, I'm having a boring sunday-like, saturday.

I don't know what to do with myself (I do know what but I don't know HOW).

prev / next