Family times, really.
Sunday, 08/03/03 - 2:28 pm.

It was all good last night. I actually enjoyed getting ready for the anniversary celebration. I don't "dress up" often, so it was alright for a change.

First we went to mass, and the priest said a word or two on my parents' anniversary. Then we went to this place where we had dinner, the so-called "party".

It wasn't a "party" after all. Nobody danced. I don't dance myself, but I was expecting somebody else would. I should've thought about the guests: marriages, married for over three decades (except for three couples, my two brothers' and one of my brothers' sister-in-law). About 35 people. I sat at the table with my brother Alan and his girlfriend (the first time I saw them together), my sister and the kids. But the kids were most of the times running around, the three of them and a beautiful baby girl, a year and a half or so.

Alan gave a little speech, about our parents' sacrifices and their struggles (he gave some details I never knew, given I arrived very late into the household, and I was just so touched). Then my dad talked, and then my mom talked. Then a lady, a friend of theirs, talked. She obviously is very religious (the kind of woman who's always quoting The Bible).

We came back home around 10 pm. The kids and I were riding back home in my cousin Mario's (195?) mustang, but the engine broke down and we ended up in my parents' car. Anyway, we came back home and my parents opened their presents. That religious lady and her husband gave them a book about on how to reach a sane sexuality. My siblings were cracking up, making a lot of jokes, and I think my parents were a little embarrased, because they're very old-fashioned. But it was good, clean, fat fun.

It was 11:30 and all my four siblings wanted to go out again, given we were all together (they always do that, go out together, taking their significant others as well). My 1st brother and his wife, my 2nd brother and his girlfriend, my 3rd brother with his girlfriend-wife (they live together), my sister, my cousin Mario, they all went out. And they invited me, but I wanted to go to bed. I ended up going, though, because perhaps I could regret not going when I'm older.

We went to this Bagdad Cafe, and sat on the floor...on cushions, actually. What a neat place that was, the cheese cake rocked my socks off. I came back home at 1:30 am.

I woke up this morning and the three kids were playing chess (they slept over). My parents were packing up, because they were going out of town, will be back tomorrow (YAYIGETTOSLEEPINTHEIRBED! It's *this* big, the dream of a lazy person like yours truly). It kind of gave me the feeling they were going on a second honeymoon. I wonder if they took the sex book with them.

Err, so anyway. The three kids are gone to the beach with my 1st brother and his wife, so it's just me and Alan, the 2nd brother, at home. But that's ok, I needed a break, after all the emotions that have been going on lately, wtth the get-togethers, the meals, the going-outs and whatnot...that-happily- will continue for a week (my brother Renan and his family will go back to Houston in a week *heart breaks*).

I love my family, I feel so blessed and thankful for all the people in it. So being so caught up in family life, I haven't taken a lot of time to think of other issues...but I thought of marriage. I don't think I'll ever get married. First, because I don't think I could endure like all those couples have, I don't think I'm capable of loving like that...so much for so long. Second...I don't feel the need to get married. At all.

And on lighter notes, the Aerosmith/Kiss tour has started. Joy, not. And also, I could win a phone call from Steven Tyler, but it just so happen I won't.

This is the sort of day after a big event. A hangover day (like january 1st) when you take the entire day off and do nothing really productive (it can't be just me), and the hours drag by, and you can't tell what time is it because you don't care. You're a vegetable or something.

Chocolat will be on TV shortly. Johnny Depp, joy.

prev / next