Hi, David.
Monday, 11/19/01 - 11:16 a.m..

Soooo...yesterday was my last sunday in this beloved third world country. For a month and something. I have a feeling my life is going to change during the time I'm there. Yeah, well, besides of my paranoia, just being there is a huge change, and at times I'm scared and don't want to leave. We're all here, 'cause we're not all there. We can't be at just one place at a time. It's going to be so fuckin' different from my vegetarian life here (I mean, I vegetate a lot...).

Yesterday, I was saying, I watched Sweet November in the afternoon. At 8:45 p.m. I went to the movies to see A.I., and no, it was not Aerosmith Interactive, it was Artificial Intelligence.

- No way!!!!.
- Way.

I didn't like it. I mean, I did like it but I didn't like it. I found it too boring, too slow, too...pointless. Yes, it does have a moral (I guess) but that kind of movies are supposed to show you the moral, in your fuckin' face. The movie does show you what might happen in the future but in the last minutes it becomes too sci-fi, which I believe that was not the purpose of the film. Anyway, I'm not a film critic, so maybe I have no idea what I'm talking about.

Here's my personal conclusion, what I got from the movie: sometimes I'm a David. In many, many ways. Then...humans suck. Because they want to be God. I was reading the newspaper today (hey, I started reading it many years ago just for the comics, but now it's like a hobby) and there was an article about the new robot, developed -if I'm not mistaken- in Japan that can even get a job. I mean....fuck, what's wrong with the human race? There are some that want to creat robots like us (what for, anyway? we've been doing the job ourselves since we walked on earth) and there are some that don't want to be replaced by them. I wouldn't like to "kill" a robot like David...so let's all save the tears and don't make those robots.

It's like the purpose of humanity is to become an useless specie. I'm not against "progress" but hey, humans do learn throughout their lives, why fuck it all up? It's like a cell phone....you wonder how the people who use it even while they're driving could live before it existed....but they did. Maybe they had an even more pleasant life, without being slave of the fuckin' ring tone. Though like dad says: it's a necessary evil. He's right. He's got a cell phone and it is useful. He uses it when he needs to, not just to call and say hi. It's for emergencies, no more.

Anyway, I had many thoughts during the movie, I just didn't share them with anybody. I went with Carlos, his fiancee Maria and Alan. It's the first time I go to the movies with more than one of my brothers at the same time. But of course, you don't go to the movies to talk (damned kids with those cell phones in the middle of the movie) so I just mentioned that ET was going to fly in front of the moon. And that Teddy is Frog, only with intelligence. And my little incident with the guy behind me. Apparently, he had hiccups...no, it was not hiccups but he did that funny sound once. It cracked me up and I couldn't stop laughing for five minutes...I was covering my face and stuff. I wished I had gone to see a comedy.

On the other hand, we got out of the movie theater, which is in a mall, at 11:30. Obviously, there wasn't anything open. It looked great. It's hard to imagine a mall with no people, with no lights on. The perfect place to make out, for the couple that was walking in front of us. This couple...well, I think they saw the movie (I mean, they were paying attention to it and not to "something else"). It's ironic, but there came a point where I was more interested in the couple than in the movie itself. They were teenagers. I had the feeling I had seen them before. Then I realized...all of the teens are the same to me. The typical dude and the typical girl trying to look like a bimbo. A very standar couple. I don't know why. Sometimes I tend to generalize people.

- You said you can't generalize.
- I'm talking about the mass, for Christ's sake, Simeon. I'm talking about the people who want to be original, and since everybody else is trying to be original, everybody is the same. But every person is original, so you can't generalize.
- Yeah, whatever.

And hell, this is all for today. I have to make many calls. I don't know why I bother. If it was for me, I'd go withouth telling anybody that I'm leaving. But then I put on their shoes and say: if we fuse it with this crap....we might have something. And sure enough, we came up with Aerosmith. No, I don't say that. Steven said it. I remembered that line from Before They Were Rock Stars. I just think that I wouldn't like that my friend or my cousin leaves and doesn't even tell me. The world should learn to feel what others feel. If they did so, scientists wouldn't even bother creating robots, since they'd feel and know that there are people who don't want to be replaced. But we are. One robot can make what 50 men can, so fire them. Even more money for the "leaders". I'll never ever buy those "pets".

The first, last and only was a tamagotchi. I wanted one. But when he died, one week later, I didn't give a fuck. They play with your feelings. I'll never change Frog, not even Hannibal Lecter (my parrot...he eats people) for a stupid electronic pet.

I hope I die before those times come. Even stronger, I hope the human race dissapears before humans themselves make those times come.

Bye, David.

prev / next