That you will lead your lives and practice your art in uprightness and honor.
Tuesday, 08/26/03 - 12:26 pm.

I'm reading this book about psychology, History of psychology, and it's so very interesting.

You do solemnly swear, each by whatever he or she holds most sacred That you will be loyal to the Profession of Medicine and just and generous to its members.
That you will lead your lives and practice your art in uprightness and honor.
That into whatsoever house you shall enter, it shall be for the good of the sick to the utmost of your power, your holding yourselves far aloof from wrong, from corruption, from the tempting of others to vice.
That you will exercise your art solely for the cure of your patients, and will give no drug, perform no operation, for a criminal purpose, even if solicited, far less suggest it.
That whatsoever you shall see or hear of the lives of men or women which is not fitting to be spoken, you will keep inviolably secret.
These things do you swear. Let each bow the head in sign of acquiescence. And now, if you will be true to this, your oath, may prosperity and good repute be ever yours; the opposite, if you shall prove yourselves forsworn.
To this, your oath, may prosperity and good repute be ever yours.

- Hypocrates' Oath.

I know, that's for medicine, but I think it can also be applied to psychology. Not only was Hypocrates the father of medicine, but he's also considered the father of psychology.

He believed that it was important to focus on the person and not on the illness. That an illness was just part of a natural imbalance, and that quality of life was necessary (as much and sometimes more than medication) to heal, nature would cure. The doctor's first responsability was not to interfere with nature's healing process (first do no harm).

Sometimes I see on the newspaper or on the web, or wherever else something about an animator. Or I hear things about animators, and the things they've achieved. And I get sad. Because that's what I wanted to be. An animator. And I feel so jealous, because I don't even have the talent or the drive.

Animation? isn't that a little selfish? asked brother #1 once, who happens to be a pediatrician. it's great that you want to do something for yourself, something that'll make you happy, but it's also very important that you do something for other people. Animation entertains and makes money (if you get really, really lucky), but for the most part there's not much more to it.

I still feel a little sad when I see talented people achieving those things (working for Pixar -my friend Mikey was offered a job there-, or simply drawing like pros), thinking how I'd love to be them. But then I go back to my books on psychology, and I think of my own possibilities. I think of all the good ideas that have been put aside (nobody talks about Dr. Hunter Patch Adams very often, do they?) and all the gaps that still need to be filled...so many things you can do with and for people.

Perhaps one day I could combine both activities. It's a stupid thing to think about but...well, I am stupid, so it's likely of me to come up with stupid ideas. I think studying psychology was a very stupid idea, and I am so very glad I came up with it.

prev / next