Home alone on yet another celebration of a lie.
Monday, 09/15/03 - 12:18 pm.

My parents went out of town yesterday and will come back this evening. I'm not the stupid teen that throws parties when the parental units are away, so yay me, because Am�lie finally premiered on TV and I caught it.

Since yesterday at noon I've been home alone. My brother Carlos called to check on me and my sister and my nephew came over to have dinner with me. They brought junk food and my nephew and I watched 2 hours and a half straight of Saint Seiya, and then my sister and I watched Am�lie, while the kid played Johnny Bravo online games (Johnny Bravo *heart*).

I slept on my parents' king size bed. But here's a little secret, which perhaps would be the equivalent of me throwing a party...I let Frog sleep next to me, on my parents' bed, under and on the sheets (depending on her mood, she wakes up here and there to change position).

Ok, so it's not such a big deal. Given you're not my parents.

Today is Independence Day here (in Central America, if you want to get technical about it). I don't believe in this day, sorry. First, because it's a lie, and second, because it's a lie.

They teach you that the people who wanted the independence from Spain were selfless, brave and cared about the oppressed people, but all they wanted was to have all the wealth to themselves, without having to share it with Spain.

The only thing that has changed is that now it's not Spain but the United States (I'm not blaming them, of course, they just take advantage of a country like this one, with a weak mind). This "relationship" with USA is a win/win situation only for rich people, who happen to run this country, so unlike what happened in 1821 (the year of our independence from Spain), the rich people won't move a finger to change anything.

At least I got a day off today. You know, they give you a one-day vacation so you can go and see bare-legged girls parading, and hear helicopters and war planes all day long (like it wasn't enough of a trauma during the civil war), and they cut off the cable TV service so you can watch the president's wonderful speech about how amazing it is to be an underdeveloped-country-on-its-way-to-development because we're friends with USA, and that we're brave because we've sent troops to Iraq (why doesn't *he* go, instead of poor people, if it's such a nice, brave thing to do?) to help rebuilt what was destroyed, so we can show our support to the war against terrorism.

Terrorism is not a country, and war is not believing you're Jesus Christ to say you're either with me or against me, and saying you need nobody's help to destroy terrorism and you'll get it done by yourself in three weeks, and then four months later saying you need all the $upport that can be provided and even more.

I suppose Bush expects to kill 4,361 terrorists, ALL of them from Iraq, and that'll erase terrorism off the face of earth (although we all know Bush is not making a war because he's a good person who wants to finish terrorism). The face of earth is the USA, so as long as there are no more terrorist acts in the USA, no matter how many people get killed in other countries, then life's peachy, and we're alright.

That's what Bush is showing, and therefore, that's what the brainless president of this country believes in (he's just a puppet of the USA government). He ("our" president) finishes off his speeches with God bless us all, when he doesn't even believe in God (he's a Sai Baba follower). His government manipulates almost all of the media, so you're bound to hear everything's ok. He has two children out of wedlock (he's waiting to finish his period to divorce) and nobody tells him anything. I don't quite care about others' personal life, but if this is what a president does, then you can't expect to have a country with values and well educated. As a matter of fact, we've never been that. And the rest is just consequences.

Christ, I will not myself go on and on about this, anymore.

Yeah, ok...so I should be thankful it's 2003 and I'm not a tortured indian slave being exploited by a powerful, cruel, greedy Spanish Lord, right?. Happy Independence Day to me (and to her). Hardy har-har.

prev / next