Depression, dysthymia, sadness and support.
Tuesday, 10/14/03 - 11:46 am.

- Me: Have you ever heard of dysthymia?
- Vic: yeah, an old girlfriend of mine was dysthimic. She'd break down suddenly. One day we were riding our bikes she threw herself at a taxi.

- Me: I just don't feel like I'm good enough for him. I can't give him what he needs.
- Vic: That's understandable. That's what we think, because we hate ourselves. You know I support you in every decision you make.

Since I became certain that I should break up with 1, I'd desperately been looking for someone to talk about it, and I'd always find myself choking in my own thoughts and fears (I fear his inevitable reactions). Vic was the right person to talk to. Always is.

I think Vic suffers from depression, or dysthymia at least (hence the dysthymia bit), but I'm only in my first year of psychology, so I can't tell for sure, let alone fix it. He considers the both of us depressed. I could almost swear I am not, not even dysthymic, I am just dryly sad. But that's good enough to have the wider perspective I need.

prev / next