About three countries, held together by the same crime.
Sunday, 03/14/04 - 4:21 pm.

Hi. I'm alive. The march was ok, exciting but uneventful (nobody got shot, I mean), although for a moment I thought I was going to die crushed, if people didn't stop pushing.

I said there were expected to be like 20,000 people, right? There were between 50,000 and 75,000. Here, take a look at one picture. I'm one of the people with red t-shirts, I'm standing under one of the trees.

I didn't have a red shirt until yesterday (I only wear black, blue, white, purple and silver). A friend of my brother's bought me one at the march, that says: my heart is on the left, and it has a heart...on the left. Of course.

You know, today I'm not going to talk about me, but about the world (oh, no!). Lately, it seems something new is taking over the world.

Take Spain, for example. A few days ago, march 11th, there was a terrorist attack. First off, terorism should not exist, and I feel heavily for all the lost lives and their families, and the whole country (wherever it happens), in general. And why not? the whole world. Once it happens in New York or in Spain the statement is clear: it can happen to anybody. Everybody.

Spanish people were, of course, mourning. The president jumped and said ETA was to blame, but then it turned out it was Al-Qaeda. People are, historically, waking up. I don't support terrorism in any form, nor I think you can justify it in anyway, but I understand that it's a consequence and not a cause. And so they understood: the president had lied to them, because he knew the terrorist attack was not just a cruel action, but also a consequence: Aznar, you liar...it wasn't ETA. It was Al-Qaeda. We were target of terrorism because YOU are making Spain part of the quiet terrorism happening in Iraq right now.

This is not about thinking "Good, they were finally thought a lesson". My point is that people cannot be easily fooled anymore. They mourned the victims and lamented the terrorist attack, as anybody would, but afterwards they asked for the truth, something their president denied them.

It's kind of what happened here during the civil war. In 1989, six jesuits were murdered, and the president inmediately jumped and said "the guerrillas are to blame", when in reality, HE (according to CIA files...don't think I'm not inquisitive) was the one who gave the order to kill them. The government killed the jesuits, but it blamed the guerrillas.

Ok, no, this is not really what's happening in Spain, but the bottom line is the same...the president lies to the people, because it's convenient. The president of Spain knew that the attacks didn't match the ETA pattern (giving warnings and such)...but he still lied, because he knew that as soon it was discovered who really did it and why, all hell would break loose, which is what is happening now, in case you don't watch CNN Plus.

And then there's the United States. I have heard many things about Kerry, good and bad. I, of course, don't quite understand the United States internal politics, because I don't live there, but I know he'd be very helpful to this specific country if he won, because he was against Reagan's wars on Central America and such. He makes the right wing tremble here, and that's very meaningful. All this country has known, ever since Christopher Columbus discovered the continent, is repression and oppression...dictatorship and neoliberalism...everything's been the same since 1492. That's why is so important that the left wing wins the elections for president next sunday (crap, crap, it's my first time voting!).

I look at the world (yeah, on CNN Plus), and I think things could be changing, at least a little bit. Did protests like the ones around the world when the "war on Iraq" begun, happen, say, for World War II? And then you take what's going on in Spain right now, aside from the hundreds of people that got killed: 11 million people go out on the streets and ask the president for the truth, and tell him that the attack is the consequence, a "eye for an eye" type of thing (you do know the content of the Al-Qaeda letter about the attack, don't you?).

The elections here, like I said, are next sunday. And some people from the USA government keep coming to tell us who we should vote for (the right wing), and you know how they do it? They say the whole salvadorian community in the United States will be expulsed and their visas will be denied forever, and all the money they send to their families here will never arrive. That's not possible, is it? Not economically, not legally.

Yesterday at the march, I got my faith back. They left wing is going to win. I'm just scared, because the right wing is so scared of losing that they are threatening private workers ("you'll lose your job and communists will eat your children"), they are preparing a fraud (the military is planning on bringing foreigners and paying them to vote for the right wing) and all international observers are being detained at the airport, their entry has been denied by the government. That is pathological fear, and that's the only thing keeping the left wing from winning. The government is scared; the government owns most of the mass media; the government hasn't educated people to think for themselves. Take those three elements, and what you get is a dirty campaign against the left wing, based on an imaginary fear (the national left wing is not based on communist ideology).

Oh, yeah...I suppose you'd appreciate to know that my stupid president (not in my name, of course) has sent troops to Iraq, too. To "rebuild". Yes, neat...THEY destroy and we rebuild. THEY should get the whole job done. After all, didn't Bush said it'd last only three weeks? And that he didn't need help from anybody? I hate to know what's happening in Iraq, but I refuse to support someone who thinks he's Jesus Almighty, saying: "you're with us or against us".

And this have been the news of today. Brought to you by the Simeonistic Syndicate Of The Voices In Your Head.

prev / next