Elsy's mom.
Tuesday, 03/23/04 - 12:19 pm.

Yesterday I received bad news: Elsy's mom died. It was so sudden. Irene got a call on her cell phone, between classes, and she was shaking, in tears.

I went this morning to see Elsy, just to be with her for a while (about three hours)...I would've never forgiven myself otherwise. Fidel and Geovanni (my favorite high school teachers) arrived later on, as well as Rod and Cel and other people I know. It was nice seeing Fidel, shame on the circumstances.

I don't know what caused her death. I know she passed out at work, and then when she arrived at the hospital she'd already passed away. Elsy, for the most part, was trying to get herself together. Sometimes she'd be very calm, talking with friends, taking it light...

- Her: how did you find out?
- Me: I was with Irene when she received the phone call.
- Her: I bet she found out before I did...nah, I found out first, so ha.

She'd tell me about how she drank a cup of coffee, "in memory of my mom", because her mom drank a lot of coffee, and she never liked it. We even talked about Simeon, and a few others "remember when..."'s.

When I arrived (8:30 am), she was alone. As the morning went by, more relatives and friends started to show up, and by 10:30 it was crowded. That's about the time I started seeing Elsy a bit more emotional, she wouldn't stop crying.

I've been thinking so much about death since I found out. And I won't even begin to write about it.

I don't have a lot of time, anyway. I'm leaving for the university soon, I have a laboratory at 2 o'clock. I'm sorry I won't be able to attend the funeral... I wish I was closer to Elsy, though (we were very close in senior high). I never met her mom, but I didn't want to see her in the coffin. I just imagine she's as beautiful as Elsy and her siblings are.

I...dread.

prev / next