Phone calls, long/short day, egocentrism, and Aerosmith tease.
Sunday, 06/06/04 - 11:09 pm.

My parents are back home, from their two-day trip. I took advantage of their absense to talk endlessly on the phone, something I had not done my whole life, until now that I got a motherfucking boyfriend who drives me crazy.

I've talked on the phone three times since 10 o'clock last night. From 10 'til midnight, from 11 am to 11:05, and from 2:30 pm 'til 3:45. And I was thinking of inviting him over for lunch or something, but I decided to be a good girl and just babysit my nephew, and read, read, read for this week's labs and quizzes.

For the record, I have eaten nothing but junk food this weekend: yesterday it was hamburgers for lunch and pizza for dinner, today it was chicken (homemade) for lunch and chicken (from restaurant) for dinner. I disgust myself sometimes, hi.

It's been a very ambivalent day. Too long when it came to Joseph (hi, I miss him), and too short to cover all my academical activities. Too long to stand my nephew seeing E.T. THREE times, and too short to even attempt to watch Memento again (I watched it at midnight, and it was...I don't know, odd?..."but that isn't really the behavior of a person with a hippocampus injury", mr. Miscellaneous, my Biological Basis of Behavior professor has stated. On the other hand, I want a camera).

Visiting LiveJournals randomly, I have witnessed one of Piaget's phases off his cognitive development theory. It's called adolescent egocentrism. "Oh, I will delete you off my friends' list because you never commented on anything I wrote, and so you don't read my journal", just to say one thing. I find that quite egocentrical, as in "dude! what makes you think people are as interested in you as you are in yourself?" (that's a statement of the theory). I mean, it's not bad, I guess it's natural.

Personally, it kind of upsets me, but I myself was once a teenag...no, wait. Technically, I still am. I suppose it depends on the personality of the individual. I'm more concerned about who doesn't read this (friends and family shall not stumble upon this diary, ever) than about who does (but thank you for doing it, seriously). I hate to think I had/have those adolescent egocentrism episodes...I am sure, though, that I didn't create this diary because of it. But thats's a tangent. I like seeing the world and knowing most things have a name, so I can talk about them.

When a boy loses his mother, he's called an orphan. When a woman loses her husband, she's called a widow. What do you call a mother who lost her son? It simply has no name....

It just came to my mind. It's what the priest said at Ernie's remembrance mass yesterday.

I have an announcement to make: Aerosmith played in Houston two nights ago. And the A&E special aired that same night (right?). I have two brothers there (well, now only one, as one is in El Paso by now, but I'm talking about friday), and they seem to quite enjoy rubbing it in my face. My eldest brother specially, hey, *my nephew*'s friends attended the concert, they said it was awesome. I think it's not supposed to, but it hurt me. It really did.

Ok, so that wasn't an announcement. I'm just bitching.

I'll stop writing, I feel very egocentrical. Bye.

- Joseph: and my friend was telling me that it's good that I'll become a psychologist, because it takes a crazy person to understand a crazy person.
- Me: but you're not treating crazy people.
- Joseph: no? what, are they, then?
- Me: they're damaged. Just damaged.

prev / next