Kids arrival, long weekend and mass homicide.
Sunday, 06/20/04 - 9:52 pm.

I almost forgot it was this time of the year again. The one in which I get anxious...happily anxious, and I can't wait until the day I get to go to the airport and pick them up, to have them with me for a month and a half.

My nephew and my niece, they're coming from Houston. I can't wait to see them. I can only imagine how much they've grown in these past six months (they're 10 and 12, time for major changes of the body and the psyche). I can already hear my nephew Renan's voice changing, everytime we talk on the phone. I grew my hair...it's longer than a [Beatle] mop-top. He looks like Harry Potter (minus the glasses) with long hair, so I asked him not to get a haircut until I saw him. And with my niece Rebeca, we're planning a little Beatle party.

There is one thing I DO hate about them coming here. I have to share them with the other side of the family. And that'd be ok, if it wasn't for the fact that they always stay at their other grandma's house. Sometimes it's like they're not even here, and that seriously upsets me.

In any case, though, their arrival is scheduled for july 6th. I have a final on the 5th and on the 7th, but at least I'll be able to go to the airport. Which is not as cool as you'd think, because the other grandma is the one who takes them, to her house, in her car. So my side of their family drives to the airport (an hour away) practically for nothing, just to receive them at the gate. And that seriously upsets me, too.

Today is my sister's birthday, and we also celebrated Father's Day (but here it's the 17th). We went to a restaurant for lunch, and we drove near Joseph's house (I don't know the exact spot, but he's Cel's neighbor, and we drove by Cel's house). He didn't call over the weekend, most likely because the thought of my dad picking up the phone makes him uneasy. But I'm not sure. He doesn't know yet that I already told my parents about him. I will call him tomorrow morning. I miss that fucker so much.

Tomorrow is a holiday, so I won't go to the university, and therefore, I won't see him. It's a long weekend, and I don't like that. I'll be busy, though, my friends will come over to keep on working on our research. It's almost two weeks until the semester finishes.

You know what I truly, truly hate? Lynching. It's a little off topic in this entry, but...it's my diary, so ha. I mention it because I turned around to see what my dad was watching on TV, and a scene of such thing was on. I think that's brutal, and nobody should die like that. People tend to think death is punishment, but not quite. Ok, they find gratifying the act of killing, say, the beating, and not necessarily the fact that the person will be dead after that, but still...it's inhuman.

You know, I'd like to develop this idea a little more, but I must start working on a final paper for Theories of Personality. Just for the record, though, I can't wait until I've learned enough to write a good book.

prev / next