Chronicles of the awful stay at Tyler Durden's beach house.
Sunday, 08/01/04 - 9:32 pm.

It was 11 people going to the beach: my parents, my aunt, my cousin, my two nephews, my niece, my sister, my brother, his girlfriend and me. We took three cars, because my sister was to come back to the city earlier the day after (today), she had to attend a wedding.

Now, onto the very, VERY funny stuff:

I was in the car with my sister. The brakes stopped working in the middle of nowhere, and I got a little scared, but not as much as I thought I would. My sister managed to pull over, and my dad, who was riding in another car, took over. I remained in the brakeless car. If something was going to happen, a car falling off a cliff specifically, I wanted to be there, with my dad...I wasn't going to leave him alone, duh. A near-life experience, yayness. The brakes kind of responded after a few tries, though. Very little, but enough.

We were just arriving to the coast, after a one-hour drive, two out of the three cars. We stopped at a supermarket, waiting for the third car (my cousin, my aunt, my nephews and niece were in it). There we got a phone call, from my cousin. He'd forgotten the keys at home, so he was on his way back to the city. We waited at that supermarket for almost two hours.

And at this point I thought: "OH, HAHA!!!". I was going to get myself in a sack and throw myself in the middle of the road, to get crushed by a truck. I wanted to remind my mom of all the times I told her "I don't want to go".

We finally arrived to the place, some kind of residential complex, where my cousin owns a ranch. The place was like a forest, because nobody has bought the lots yet. We got to his house, and I was very, very, very, VERY dissapointed. VERY DISSAPOINTED, in case I haven't made myself clear. VERY DISSAPOINTED.

The house seemed to be abandoned (it kind of was), and it was painted with a HORRIBLE orange that only seemed to increase the awful beach heat. The sinks were rusty, the walls were dusty, the floor was muddy, the lightbulbs didn't work, and the shower was merely a rusty tube. So THIS is Tyler Durden's house, eh?, I thought to myself. That thought actually made me like the house for a while, though.

The complex as a whole was awesome. The beach is beautiful, and to our luck, there weren't many people. We went into the sea when the sun was going down, and then we went to the pool for a while, until it was completely dark.

We came back and that's when I started hating the house again. I was soaking, I had sand all over me and I wanted to take a bath. But like I said, all bathroom floors were dirty, sinks were rusty and the lightbulbs weren't working. Impossible. Everybody tried to use the bathrooms as less as possible.

It started to rain at night, hurricane-like, and the lights went off. Nobody brought a goddamn lamp or candles, so we barely made it to our own beds led by the light of my brother's cell phone.

In the morning things got a little better, at least we had sunlight. I went to the swimming pool of the complex, a public one, but nobody was there, except for a cute two-year and his family. This two year old kept running around, or, as he told his mom, he was "pdacticin' doonning.

The swimming pool was next to the estuary, it was such a beautiful sight. I went there several times during the day, and everytime the tide was higher and higher. That I did like about the trip....actually, I happened to like everywhere but the house we were staying at. I even supported my sister, she wants to buy a lot there. She's been having that idea for a while, my brothers too. So this seems to be the perfect place, because we don't have to build a pool.

My sister left at noon, but we left at five. I wanted to go with my sister, but I only spoke my mind once: "I'm thinking of going back with you", I said. She replied "nah, stay". I wasn't even going to try again.

Why? because the one and only reason why I wanted to go back with her was the one they'd never accept. How strong is the statement "I want to leave"? I just wanted to go home. Wanting to go home is such a simple reason, yet makes for a very strong urge in the human being. I just wanted to come back home, and see Frog (I was also painfully regretting not bringing her with me, because the place turned out to have a very dog-friendly enviroment).

I have low tolerance for heat. And that sticky humidity of the coast, that seems to be in your towel and on your clothes when you need them (and are supposed) to be dry kill me, too. But finally we left, and the ride back home was uneventful (I was in my brother's car, we were very close to my dad's car, he was driving the brakeless car...that wasn't quite brakeless, but still dangerous to drive).

I came home, and my friend Art knocked on my door just when I was going to take a bath (the sticky humidity and my avoiding the bathroom as much as possible). He came from the USA a week ago, and he brought me a present from Hot Topic. It's a keychain of a goth Hello Kitty. Isn't he a doll? (I'm not goth, I'm not into Hello Kitty, but the combination is neat). He didn't want to stay, though, when he saw we were just coming back. I was sorry about it, but deep down I thanked him. I just wanted to take a fuckin' bath and put on my PJs. But I do hope he comes visit me soon.

I'm sure this entry could've turned a whole lot better, having the mind how...peculiar -to avoid using a stronger word- the trip was. But I'm tired and in a bad mood, leave me alone.

prev / next