Their summer is over (OR "do you know she's getting married to a spike-haired guy?")
Thursday, 08/05/04 - 10:15 pm.

My nephew and my niece are taking the plane back to Houston tomorrow morning. I admit they upset me a great deal sometimes, like this morning, but I obviously adore them, specially when they're in a good mood, and I'm very sad about their leaving.

They left my house this afternoon, with suitcases and all. They're spending the night at their grandmother's. I don't remember feeling this empty in a long time. The house was empty, I was empty, and I had nothing to do. I could only took a nap...I kind of hate napping, though, waking up is hard and it leaves me in a bad mood.

So by tomorrow night I'll be back to my old routine without them. It's been fun, even though sometimes they got on my nerves. My niece, Rebeca, specially...she can get very bitchy. But all in all, they're great, beautiful kids, both of them (and my third nephew, too, duh). I'll miss having them around the house.

Something funny happened today. Ok, not funny-haha, more like funny-I'm going to hang myself. I was in my bedroom putting on accesories (I can't leave the house without wristbands, earrings, rings and bracelets on). My nephew Renan was right next to me, and he was looking at my rings. He found one that does look like an engagement ring, it's golden and has a little jewel in the middle (it's not real; I'm cheap, have I said that?).

I put the ring on. Are you engaged?, Renan asked. And I said "yes". Really?, he asked again. I said yes. Are you getting married?. "No, not this week". My other nephew and my niece were in the bedroom, too. Rebeca saw Joseph once, and she told my other nephew, Javier, about this "spike-haired friend" of mine...Does Renan know about him?, Rebeca asked. Right then my dad comes in my bedroom, and Renan runs to him: did you know she [me] is getting married to a boy?. My dad only grunted...like he didn't like the comment and was going to pretend it never ocurred.

See, that's what happens when you talk with kids. They just can't be discreet. Like Rebeca telling Javier about my "spike-haired friend" (who actually is my boyfriend). Rebeca says you have a friend with spikey hair, that silly 8-year-old told me one day, out of the blue. And that's not even true!...not entirely.

Ok, ok. Those are just tangents. I'm just trying to prepare myself for tomorrow. It'll be, as usual, very hard to say goodbye. It's awful, when the kids start crying. It's a domino effect that brings all of us down.

I don't want them to leave, these five weeks went very fast, and I feel we didn't get to do half of what we were supposed to do. We never had a Beatle party, we couldn't watch A Hard Day's Night all four of us (nephews, niece and I). Or talk about pre-teen stuff, just so when something happens to them they don't go "well, somebody could've been nice enough to warn me". Or...I don't know, whatever.

On an unrelated note, I broke my discman today. I am so stupid. No, no, I am not in a "I loathe myself" mood today. I like myself, hi. It's just that getting the discman broken was really my fault. I could've avoided that accident, but now all that's left for me to do is steal Joseph's discman.

The discman brings me to tomorrow. When I go to the airport to drop someone off, I always take my discman. On the way back home I'm always crying, so having music with me is kind of like a consolation. Tomorrow there'll be no such thing. But, oh, my God, who the hell cares? With music or not, I'll just miss them so much.

prev / next