I suppose the short description of this entry should be named like the Beatles' song, we can work it out, although that rarely happens.
Saturday, 08/07/04 - 10:04 pm.

Everyday my head is filled with things to say, but when I come here all those things...no, wait. That's how a Beatles (George Harrison) song goes. Yeah, it goes: I want to tell you / My head is filled with things to say / When you're here / All those words they seem to slip away. It's a nice song. But anyway, it's true. All those things go, er, slip away.

I was going to talk about politics. But ugh, politics, who wants to talk about politics?....I do. But not now. I would, actually, if I knew if it was of some use. Something made me very angry today, but I said to myself, self, that's how 40 million people think...and if 40 million people tell you "we're better than you", you can't really fight them, even if they're wrong, all egocentric.

It's like lynching. That's one of the things I fear the most. Throughout my life I've seen many videos of lynchings, that's just so horrible and brutal. It might not be very common in countries like the USA (which is perhaps one of the reason why they insist on saying they're better than anybody else), but it happens often around the world. I saw one today, "it's the word of one person against all those people's". How could you ever be heard in a crowd, specially if your voice is saying something they don't agree with? They ignore you, or they kill you. You can't win.

Hmph. Tangents, tangents.

My life seems to be very far away from the world. Tonight we went out for dinner, to celebrate my parents' 36th anniversary. It was chinese food, such a beautiful place. The waiter even gave me (and my mom, and my sister, and my brother's girlfriend) a rose, and they gave my nephew a turbo car. I have this brilliant idea of taking Joseph there on our 1st anniversary (of going out, not of being married, duh). Brilliant, aren't I? Maybe he'll get a car, too, and he'll let me play with it.

Speaking of that fucker, we both also tend to disagree a lot. Ok, not a lot, but certainly on very delicate issues, like war. He sees all the positive side when it comes to war. He asked me to watch every saturday Gundamn Wing on a local channel. He says he likes the points of view in that show, about war and enemies (I'm slowly catching up...the little I knew about it, was because of her). And he also compares my point of view to one of the character's, who is a pacifist.

We could have long discussions about who's right or wrong on a war/peace debate, but we always manage to find an argument that makes the other go "yeah, you're right" and then shut up, and talk about something else. It's not really about who's right or wrong, though, we know that. It's just a point of view (I realize points of view are a terrible thing when you're the president of a poweful nation, but that's another story). And it's all summed up by the fact that I want our child (if/when we have one, that is) to be a hippie, and he wants him/her to be in the military. But I still love him madly.

The conclusion for the day is that neither war or peace work for humanity. We need to find more alternatives to keep complicating the living.

prev / next