The same old New Year.
Wednesday, 01/02/02 - 8:09 a.m..

Rabbit: (...) He (Steven) liked to come in, piss off the crew and walk out, having left a cassette recorder secretly running so he could hear what we said about him after he left. He was always walking around with one hand over his eye because he was seeing double. One day at Armonk he told me, "I've reached a new high- I'm seeing triple!".

Oh, to be that stoned.

It's 1977 and Aerosmith just finished recording Draw The Line, which for many people, including the Rolling Stone mag, plainly sucked. Liv is just born but Steven doesn't know she's his daughter. A little capsule of general Aerosmith knowledge: it was recorded at The Cenacle, a nunnery, a mansion with the whole convent scene.

Tom Hamilton: The Cenacle [the name was the french word for The Last Supper] was now owned by a psychiatrist who wanted the place to become a treatment center for disturbed adolescents. Instead he got us.

Anyway, changing the subject...they're gone. Yes, they're gone. It was a bit I-don't-know-what seeing them go but hell, they're gone. The house looks bigger. These people have been really nice to Renan and his family. Dave, Denise's aunt Marilyn's husband was a really nice guy and he liked Aerosmith. We really never talked though. Neither Mrs. Marilyn and I did. I sort of got along with Mark, their 8 year-old, but not quite. And with the teenager, Rafael, never exchanged a word. He didn't spend time in this house anyway, only the two first days and yesterday. He stayed at a friend's house. They are good people. But I'm just glad they're gone.

We called the kids who came to see us, The Blue Army - Joe Perry.

I bought blue jeans and I'm wearing them today, along with my Aerosmith T-shirt. I was wearing this shirt yesterday, to start the year with some aerogear on, but then I changed because it *might* snow here, so I needed something warmer. Holy-shit.

Simeon, is it still a new year or it's already worn out? People love to start all over after they've fucked up. 365 days are too much and not enough. I'm only 364 days left to finish this year. It'll be over pretty soon. And after it's january 1st in the morning, people starts fuckin' up again and all the New Year resolutions are flushed down the toilet. New Year is relatively over, anyway. Now that the New Year has become an Old Year, you don't need New Year resolutions. By the time America -the continent- receives New Year, Japan and all that side of the world is already wasting it. But every person receives one second, one minute, one hour, one day at a time, so they won't waste the whole year in minutes *Simeon yawns*. My first song of the New Year was Just Push Play. Great party song, and Aerosmith rocked everyone's ass off at Dick Clark's party on ABC. Crazy motherfuckers, I wish they rocked forever.

So today is january 2nd, right, Simeon? *Simeon hugs the pillow*. This sunday will be my last sunday here. Well, the next one I'm leaving (pass me the fuckin' tissues, Simeon. *Simeon passes the fuckin' tissues*). I should start doing outrageous things so that I can write my autobiography when I'm a weak old lady, rockin' in a rockin' horse and people will actually make it a best-seller. Geez, I'm almost fuckin' 17 and I haven't done a damn thing.

I told my mom that I'm visiting the community college and she totally freaked out, she completely lost her mind, she went definitely nuts. Why I was doing that, that no way I'm not staying there, that I should go just to meet this place...she basically tied me up. She started talking as if I was going to join the circus (which is not a bad idea), giving me a lot of advices. She also took it personally and she acted as if I had told her in the last second, as if I called her from the airport five minutes before my return flight takes off, which I DID NOT. I was just telling her that I wanted to see what this damn college looked like, but she didn't listen.

I thought that when I arrive she'll be waiting for me with handcuffs and policemen that would watch me 24/7 for the rest of my life so I wouldn't leave the house except to go to a pathetic university where everybody is stupid because THE FUCKIN' EDUCATION SYSTEM THERE DOESN'T TEACH YOU A DAMN THING! They just teach to go with the flow, to be content with what you have and drop out after 2nd year because you were 17 when you got in the university and you were too stupid to make the right decision, because the school didn't teach you, and the culture didn't make you feel like learning, to think by yourself, so you lost 2 years studying the wrong career just because it was "hip", you got a part-time lame job but doesn't pay you enough to start again in another university, so your job becomes a full-time one, you get married with the individual you got (or got you) pregnant, become a drunk, divorce with 6 kids, beat them, never change the job and that's how you spend your miserable life until they bury you in the stupid cemetery that often is cutting down trees to have more space for dead people, whose bodies will be eaten by the worms anyway, so it'll just be a waste of space and trees and pollution will fuck up everybody's lungs and the next generation will have three eyes and will be cannibals, so in 50 years, the whole damn country will have disappeared, unless it sinks before, because the poles are fuckin' melting and the water level is going at least one meter up every year. *deep inhalation*. Maybe not quite catastrophic, but I don't want to stay there.

Anyway, Denise talked to my brother Alan next day and he said they all jumped on her, telling her that if that's what I want to do, then so be it. She's got our blessings, Alan said. Even my uncle (my mom's brother, a pretty cool and funny guy) told Renan that he'd better not let me go this time, there's nothing for me in that country. In words of Steven Tyler, Wow, thank you God. I want to be with my family, but as history teaches us, that usually doesn't happen after you graduate. They always tell me it doesn't matter what I study, as long as I'm happy with it. They want me to be happy and if it takes leaving the house, so be it. *Simeon yawns*...ok, I'll cut the crap already.

I'll go hang around with my brand-new energy and my brand-new Blue Army pants. Happy good ol' year, Simeon.

Steven Tyler: (...) My original concept was to have a teddy bear sitting in the attic in a dusty beam of light with his wrist slit open and stuffing all over the floor. "Too off-the-wall", they said. So we ha d all the toys -bear, rockin' horse, drum, toy soldiers- wondering where the kids who used to play with them went to, and when would they come back? But if the kid can find the key to get back to the attic, he regains the innocence and wonder of childhood (...). Eventually you grow up, anyway. The teddy bear becomes whoever you're with. The rockin' horse becomes your car.

In the attic's lights
voices scream
nothing's seen
real's the dream....
.

Little Foot must die!!!

prev / next