Purple sand (miscellaneously Aerosmith).
Monday, 01/07/02 - 8:23 p.m..

Yesterday MTV2 played the Aerosmith Unplugged...of course, I missed it. But it doesn't matter that much, I guess. I've been living without it my whole life, I think I can still live without it for another couple of years. Someday I'll get it.

In the meantime, I had my own Aerosmith marathon this morning. I watched three of four Aerosmith tapes: Holland, 1994...not bad, but too commercial for my taste; Jones Beach (JB Amphitheater, Wantaugh, NY), 2001....not the best quality and it's missing the first three songs, but it's great...they sing happy birthday to Joey Kramer and Steven's daughters, Mia and Liv sing the chorus of Walk This Way; And Osaka, 1999....IT FUCKIN' ROCKS!!!!!!!! Specially when Joe is on vocals, singing Stop Messing Around...the whole band jams, jumps, runs, dances like teenagers...Steven practically doesn't sing on that song but fuck, what a freakin' harmonica solo...the countdown to the year 2000, and a touching prayer from Steven, translated to japanese...and their families are there, too...the first song they played in the new year was Full Circle and then sung happy birthday to Tom....what a fuckin' amazing show! Celebrating the last hours of the old year and the first ones of the new one with Aerosmith and their families....*sigh*....I must watch it again.

Wait, wait...and the set lists!!!! So many "old school" gems: One Way Street, Seasons of Wither!!!, Same Old Song And Dance, Chip Away The Stone!!!!!....RATTLESNAKE SHAKE!!!, Uncle Salty.....and the boys definitely look so happy when they play the old shit. Fly Away From Here, I Don't Want To Miss A Thing shouldn't even exist. It pisses me off people who go to the concerts and just care about those, not even knowing which band is it playing until IDWTMAT and Jaded come out. PICK ME, AEROSMITH, DAMMIT, PICK ME!!!!!! I rock myself off, I know how to Let the music do the talking.!!!!!!!!!! Today I screamed every word of almost every song today, I sang for almost six hours!!!!! WHO FUCKIN' DOES THAT FOR AEROSMITH?! I FUCKIN' DO!!! And do I get to go to their concerts? nope. Not a chance in this miserable life....C'mon, I don't go to see Steven shake his ass and Joe rip his shirt off (though that's certainly a plus), I go for the music, I go for the energy those motherfuckers have, they're the secret to eternal youth...I'm fuckin' sixteen and I know and love them as if I was 39, as if I was a fan since the 70's, WHAT ELSE DO THEY WANT?!?

*sigh*, ok, I'll stop before I slash my throat and wrists. On related news, Tom Hamilton wrote me...I mean, he wrote me and all of the fans around the world. Here's a bit of what he said:

After some unexpected time off a few weeks ago due to some bronchial bogosity we were back in business and headed to New York City. There's something about that place that makes me think of all the times we've been there for shows, recording, press, videos and whatnot. I sometimes find myself measuring myself when I go there. When we started doing stuff in New York way back in the beginning I felt very much like a country boy out of place. I found myself riding in taxicabs to huge skyscrapers where the record company sat on its throne deciding who gets their dream and who gets the door. I wasn't sure I measured up. I have to admit I wasn't that career oriented. I was as hungry to make it as anyone else in the band but I guess I didn't take it seriously enough to realize it was going to take more than us all being good on our instruments. We'd have to get used to hanging out in office buildings sitting around conference tables with people in suits and ties. It wasn't until we had a couple of hit albums and some sold out Madison Square Gardens that I realized that me and NYC were peers.

(.....)

On a confessional note, I had just sent my bags down to the lobby one day before checking out and started thinking of how funny it would be to pack your luggage, send it down and an hour later realize you forgot to leave out a pair of shoes. How lame it would be! Ha Ha Ha! A week later I did it. Luckily our tour manager wears the same size. They didn't match my bag but hey it was better than barefoot.

TH.

He's so funny. That's not the whole entry though. He talks mostly about being invited to Ground Zero, and his feelings when he got there, and his feelings when he and the band was giving the concert that night. A thoughful guy. A thoughtful AND funny guy. I hope he writes a book someday, even if it's all of his News From The Road. He writes beautiful stuff.

You rock, Tom!!!!!!

I think I'm gonna change my template next week. I want color scrollbars, some frames and I also want to meet Aerosmith.

How's my harmonica coming along? Ooh, it rocks. It'd be greater if I played it. I do, actually...as a matter of fact....I PLAYED THE INTRO TO BIG 10 INCH!!!!!!!! That was pure fluke though, but I'm sure the first parts go between blowing G, C E and drawing B, D and F......won't you tell me if I'm wrong, Steven? *Simeon puts on his hand his Steven Tyler puppet*.

Looking at the hourglass, I always get nervous when the last grains of sand are going thru. Imagine your life is a huge hourglass, and one hour before you die you're taken in front of it, to psychologically torture you, making you see how your life is fading away, second by second, as the sand is going down. And you feel the last five seconds as long as your whole life, only that these five seconds are full of fear and anguish...and finally, there's only a few grains of sand, one second and then.....beats me, Simeon. I don't know what comes after the sand is thru. Uh, just ignore this paragraph.

Well, not completely. There's an hourglass in this house. It has purple sand and it lasts about five minutes. I can't help it, and as pathetically as it might sound, it entertains me watching it over and over again, wondering if after the sand is through, something is going to happen.

Err, time to go. The sands keep running....

prev / next