A day out (including WHITE TIGERS!) and the perspective of the family get-together.
Thursday, 12/23/04 - 8:12 pm.

This day wasn't really shaping up to be a good one when I woke up. My nose was stuffed, making my head and teeth hurt, and I had a hungover, from listening to my brother and his son arguing the night before. I was sick of that child...seriously, I understand him and where he's coming from, but he's too much sometimes.

I had to get up early, because there was this lady who was coming over to clean up the house. I jumped in the car at 8:30 or so, with a stressed brother, a smiling niece, a frowning nephew (they're always having opposite moods when they're very intense) and a nephew carrying a GameBoy.

We were staying at my other brother's hotel room, with my parents, while my two brothers took the cars to be repaired (they weren't, due to holiday break). In the meantime, my parents took us to Denny's for breakfast, and I felt all kinds of stares when the waiter talked to us in spanish. It was kind of embarrasing, like we were strange creatures. But that's about it. The meal was great, and it made my nephew Renan's bad mood disappear.

Afterwards we went back to the room (the hotel is just behind the restaurant), and watched Dawson's Creek (yay, Dawson's Creek!) until we all agreed on what to do today. The day was (is) horribly cold, so our choices were only indoor-activities.

We decided to go to the Aquarium downtown, and it was amazing. I took pictures with my camera (MY digital camera!), I may post them one day when I'm not too lazy. I had troubles with it, concerning the flash (no flash allowed, of course), but overall I took a few and they turned out ok. I did hate that they had a parrot in a cage, in the middle of the corridor. Why, oh, why? What's a parrot got to do with deep-sea creatures? It was out of place. What a disgrace, that poor thing in that cage.

I also don't quite get why they had white tigers. But OHMYGOD I HAD A WHITE TIGGER IN FRONT OF ME, OHMYGODOHMYGOD!!! Two, actually. And one was only 7 months old. The pictures I took of them give the impression I was in front of them...well, I was, but behind a glass. At least they weren't in a cage, they keep them in some kind of lounge, with waterfalls and all. I never expected to see white tigers like that. They were beautiful.

Since the aquarium was in the middle of the downtown, we decided to walk around and find a place to have lunch at. I felt like a Sim, the outside of the aquarium was such a Sims downtown, and even the music coming from the speakers was all Sim-esque.

But when we'd walked like two blocks downtown (and my camera had ran out of batteries by then, stupid battery-sucker device) we decided to go back to the car. It was too cold and we were too hungry to enjoy the sightseeing.

We went to Cici's pizza, but that restaurant had closed. My brother insisted on that place, so he took us to another Cici's pizza, on the opposite direction. The traffic was horrible at that time, so it took us a while to get there. Then we went to Blockbuster, rented two movies and came home, at 4 pm. Now that I think about it, time went by very quickly, though we did a lot of things.

I watched clueless with my nephew and niece, and prepared dinner (er, scrambled eggs) because my mom got sick. It was the pizza. She can only eat one slice, and she ate two today.

And now, I am waiting for my brother Alan to arrive from El Paso. He just called from Dallas, his plane is delayed, but he's still coming tonight. Now I'll have my three brothers around, and tomorrow my sister and sister and law are arriving, right on time for the whole family to spend Christmas together. Aw, how cute.

Also, I'd like to add that my cold gets tough at night *cough*.

prev / next