"All the planet is vibrating"
Monday, 12/27/04 - 9:40 am.

Since I'm sleeping in my nephew's bedroom (he has a bunkbed) and all kids love heights, all I had to do this morning was to roll over the sheets and then I was practically on the computer. After all, we're staying home today, and I foresee endless battles over The Sims, I'd better get out of the way.

I'd like to talk about my day yesterday, about our visit to Hermman Park and how everybody got on a boat and cruised the duck lake, and how we spent six hours at the zoo, until I wanted to come home to rest my feet and spine (when the former hurt, the latter hurts) and see the pictures I'd taken.

But instead I'll concentrate on what happened while we were watching Miss Congeniality. My brother got a phone call from my uncle, who was confirming he arrived safely to McAllen (he left yesterday morning).

Really?...WHAT?...9.8!...that'll get to here, for sure, now volcanoes will wake up, too.... My brotehr kept talking and getting all biblical, and I wanted to know what's going.

8.9 earthquake in Asia, my brother started to tell us when he hung up. And he got biblical again, about how it also snowed here when it never snows and such...I got scared, but my nephew freaked out and yelled at his dad (like it was his fault) and then he had some sort of panic attack that kept him in tears for a while.

But now I just don't understand. I started to read the news online (because here the news casts are nearly a disgrace), and it pissed me off they were worried about three, THREE americans that were among the victims. My sister in law started to make fun of that..."victims: 12,000 people and three americans". Seriously, all those children in a boat swept away and they're talking about an "Oprah regular".

I informed myself about this, even though the numbers keep changing: it happened in nine countries, at a certain time, then the tsunami came 2 hours or later, and the entire planet is being affected (I heard something about its rotation, but all I could confirm is that the planet is vibrating).

Finally, I came here (into the internet) this morning, to see the reactions of people. I found none. People don't watch the news, or just believe it's too far away to even try to care. They'll only start being loud when/if it ever happens "close to home". I think it might. I hope it won't, but this was too big.

News.

prev / next