Purchases and purchases.
Wednesday, 12/29/04 - 3:49 pm.

I keep taking bills out of my wallet, and of course I'm running out of funds. I'm getting almost everything from my wishlist, but I always add one more thing (or two) every time I go shopping to get what's on my list. Which is actually why I'm running out of funds.

This morning the lady who cleans the house came over, so the kids, my sister and I moved into my brothers' and my parents' hotel rooms for a while (for the kids to shower there), and then we went to Barnes & Noble and then to Chuck E. Cheese's (I HATE those characters). But not before I watched Dawson's Creek. Because I'm lame like that.

I got George Harrison's cloud 9, The Essential Calvin & Hobbes and Chuck Pahlaniuhk's (sp?) diary (I wanted Fight Club, but I decided to go for something newer...I haven't started to read it, but now I kind of regret that choice).

I wanted to buy a book on The Beatles, for my collection, but I couldn't decided whether a George Harrison biography or a Beatles one, written by someone who was very close to them. I also found The Gunslinger, by Stephen King, and I thought of getting it for Joseph. I don't remember if he owns it already, I think he doesn't. It isn't very expensive, so I might do an effort and get it for him.

Yesterday we went to a mall names Katy Mills, and we walked and shopped through the whole thing. It took us about six hours. With a big help from my brother, I bought a Nightmare Before Christmas hood, and by myself I bought a t-shirt that says my imaginary friend thinks you have mental problems. My brother bought me my christmas gift, a battery charger (he'd gotten me a digital camera, remember? so it was a trade, he'll return it once he goes back to El Paso). It was a shopping spree for my parents, but I can say it was about time. They buy stuff for themselves every 5 years, at least.

Afterwards we stopped by Walgreens and I bought a pair of earphones and two stuffed tigers (one for Joseph, the other one "just in case" someone -I'm thinking Carmen- stops by my house after I'm back from Houston).

I still have to buy the Aerosmith DVD. That's at the top of my list, followed by a Beatles book, the Gunslinger, one or two shirts and Fight Club, just because I'm a fan of the movie. Only the first two items are a must to buy before I leave, though (I obviously can't buy them after I've left, duh). I think I won't have enough money for the rest.

I'm ashamed of sounding like a compulsive consumerist, I know I've been one since I came to Houston. Everything will change starting next week, though, when my siblings leave (*frowns*) and I get sucked in the routines of this house. THEN, hopefully, I'll get to be more thoughtful and less materialist.

prev / next