A Beatles deathmatch and a relatively stable peaceful atmosphere.
Saturday, 01/15/05 - 5:21 pm.

A simple change in your rutine can bring experiences you weren't expecting. Yesterday I took the dog, Iris, for I walk, and I decided to go on the opposite direction to the usual route.

That brought my way a cute little girl, who came up to us (the dog and I) and said to me: she's a big cutie. I wanted to tell her "so are you", but I only said "yeah".

Then, a nice old man playing with his dogs. He was throwing the balls and the dogs would chase them and bring them back. The man said "how you doing?", and I said fine. I wanted to start a conversation with him, I wanted to touch those dogs, but I only walked around.

Last, a car with what seemed to be foreign people (from India, assuming by the facial features) stopped in front of me and asked me for directions, the Galleria. I said I was sorry, I didn't live around here, and the lady said politely "that's ok". The kids on the backseat were so beautiful and polite. I wish I could've helped them.

And all that happened to me in one block, in 45 minutes. One block, because this dog has to stop every three steps and smell a spot for 5 minutes. Jesus Christ. It doesn't sound like a big deal, but believe me, it is to me.

This morning my sister in law gave me a ride to the supermarket, and I rushed to buy milk for breakfast. We had some sort of family meal (my brother, his wife, their two kids, my nephew and I), with occasional outbursts from the children, who just can't be in a good mood for a damn morning...because, first, apparently, all their parents do is piss them off, and second, the sibling is the mean one.

My niece had a basketball game in the morning, and my brother and I went to see her. We were very late and to make it worse, we got lost. My niece made it on the third quarter of the game, and her team lost. She was very upset, and she got really mad because, apparently, her dad pissed her off by trying to coach her.

Note to self: never tell anything to these kids if you want to avoid their annoying rage. Never try to give them any advice on how to improve: "I know!", or "leave me alone" is the most likely answer they'll give.

This afternoon has been on my calendar for days. Today on Celebrity Deathmatch The Beatles were on. The fight was a little disappointing. I thought all four of them were going to beat the crap out of each other, at the same time; why are they dressed like in Abbey Road and aren't fighting about money? See, John and Paul should only be kicking George over space in the albums if they're dressed in suits. Otherwise, they should be against Paul, who sued the other three. And Yoko, bringing back John and Paul together?

But hey, I'm not going to complain *cough*. At least they were on that show, weren't they?

We ordered pizza for lunch, because no one felt like cooking. This was some strange lucky strike that even made my niece let her brother play The Sims. So at least the afternoon was very, very peaceful, and everything is well so far. So far, I repeat.

I really had something else to write about today, but the day was too nice to pass up its description...for me, anyway. I could start with my original idea right now, but I'll leave it for some other day. Anyway, maybe if I ignore it it'll go away.

prev / next