We save money and we earn days.
Friday, 01/21/05 - 12:20 am.

I did it. I changed the date. My nephew and I are leaving on the 30th, not on the 25th. AND for no additional cost. I didn't understand why, but that's alright, I'm not mad. I (or rather, my brother and his wife) have saved $200 and earned five days. Yes, as a matter of fact, I am so very happy about that.

You know what's been killing me, though? I have some craving of talking to somebody. To see people I know. I think I have mostly in mind those three kids from the university, Victor, Irene and Victoria let's call her Priscilla, shall we?. Part of me can't wait for the semester to begin and see them again. They're just the happy bunch I always wished for (we used to be six, though, you may not remember...there used to be Ern, rest in peace, and Angie, who just...distanced from us).

E-mails kind of do, but they're not really enough. That's not what I want. I want to talk to someone my age (OHMYGODI'M20!). I guess I feel lonely, but hey, it's just a matter of time before I see them again, so in the meantime, I'll just enjoy the present. After all, it's at no extra cost.

My sister in law is attending college again, she's getting a master degree. I'm happy for her. I forgot that she had a class yesterday, from 5 to 8 (that's practically the same schedule I have in my university! I feel so lame), so I got worried when she didn't call me at 5. I didn't know what to cook for the children, and I was wondering where she were.

Unfortunately, nobody else remembered she had a class, and she forgot my nephew had basketball at 6:30. He tried to reach her and his dad, and he got really mad when he couldn't. We're gonna have to take their cell phones away, my angry nephew yelled. I actually wanted to laugh. He's 12 years old and talking like a dad...I wanted to ask him how he was going to do that. He had all his right to be mad, that I do not deny. He felt abandoned, I know. If there's an emergency in the house, there's no one we can turn to. He had a point.

When my sister in law finally arrived with my brother (they also went to get their other car, that was being repared), my nephew, unlike I expected, walked up to them and said he was sorry for being so mad before, I was also worried because you weren't picking up the phone. Yes, he has strange ways to show he's worried. His parents apologized, they'd honestly forgotten about basketball. They worked things out quickly and everything was peace the entire night.

My other nephew and niece are getting together at the playground after school today (I have to take them, you realize). It's because this kid named Brad, whom we call Phil, asked my niece to come and play for a while (he stays after-school, prime time). I overheard her telling my nephew that he used to like her last year but then he liked somebody else. I think she kind of likes him, too. He's a very pretty boy, blue eyes, blonde mop-top. I wouldn't blame her. How cute. I never had a crush when I was 10. Not that I remember, anyway, so who cares.

Time for lunch, and to wait for the plumbers to come wreck the bathroom sink and finally unclog it.

prev / next