A phone call and an e-mail.
Monday, 01/24/05 - 12:19 pm.

- Me: hey.
- Joseph: hey.
- Me: how are you?
- Joseph: great, just great.
- Me: are you busy? are you at work right now?
- Joseph: no, I'm at the bank. Where are you?
- Me: still in Houston.

Yes, I called Joseph this morning. It was a very casual conversation, and very short. But it didn't fail to make me happy. He says he's doing well in everything (I'm assuming he included college).

- Joseph: are you having a good time?
- Me: yes. I made a lasagna last night.
- Joseph: oh, right...what a good time...

Well, yes, it was. It was tiring, too, it took me two hours...but it turned out pretty decent. This lady, the mom of my niece's science project partner was over and she kept asking me questions about the lasagna and my life as a college student. I wanted to tell her that I'm still not very skilled at speaking in english and cooking a meal (especially watching the boiling pasta) for the first time. But I did all I could.

Today I have to go to my niece's school at 3, like I did on friday. Go there with my nephew and meet up with my niece, so they both can play for two hours. This time my other nephew will be there, too, rehearsing for his violin concert tonight (!!!). He comes out at 5, so we'll wait for him and we'll come home the four of us, to wait for Denise (my sister in law) to take us to his concert.

So, anyway, I'm very happy about finally talking to Joseph...I'm even calling him tomorrow again. But after we hung up, I came to find an e-mail from Joe. Which tore my happiness in two, because, you know, now I was happy about listening from the two damn people I'm in love with.

Joe said he'd wrote the e-mail for as long a song he was listening to lasted (it was a short e-mail, and a short song at that). He doesn't seem too happy, I think that while writing he was in some sort of pain related to his past, a kind of pain you can only get by listening to certain songs.

I'd send him a slice of lasagna to cheer him up. But I'll eat it myself instead, it's time for lunch.

prev / next