He's leaving and I'll stay until he comes back.
Wednesday, 01/26/05 - 1:27 pm.

My brother leaves to Mexico in a couple of hours, so today is the last day I'll see him in who knows how long. A year, at least. Which is probably why he took me and my (our) nephew to IHOP, for breakfast this morning.

It stings (stings), saying good bye to him so soon. He'll be back on sunday, the day I leave, but his plane arrives 20 minutes after mine has taken off. That got me thinking that today I could've woken up in my own bed, and instead, happily, I'm still in Houston. And I hate it that I could've stayed longer, if I hadn't been my nephew's legal guardian for the trip. They need me here, have I said that?

I can't help thinking I'm leaving in four days. Not that I'm not thankful for the opportunity of staying five more days (one of which was yesterday). I've enjoyed myself and helped around as much as possible. But obviously, no matter how long I stay here, I'll be dreading the day I leave.

Sunday, that is.

Oh, well. For the time being, I'm still here, so I'll help my sister in law with the kids and the house as much as I can. There was some screaming last night. The usual with my 12 year-old nephew, I guess. Over fish food this time, although he then btought up other issues (I'm telling you, he's got issues). Luckily, whose line is it, anyway? put him in a better mood.

Alright. I'm going to carpe diem, now. Farewell.

prev / next