Ha!!!....yeah.
Friday, 01/25/02 - 8:25 pm.

This morning, there was a beautiful sight of the twin mountains. It was 6:30, I was riding Mrs. Rosey's car and behind these mountains, there were these orange clouds, like a blanket of fire. I am so lame at describing nature. But it was beautiful.

Well, second day of school and I feel excited. For no special reason, just because I'm there, in my last year at school. It's sad, yes, but so fuckin' beautiful.

First period, english. Marked the calendar, just in case. That'd be my free period with Fidel later on. I asked him if he could take me out of class to drink coffee like last year, and he said that's for sure.

Second period....WHOO-HOO. I met my psychology teacher, Geovani (yes, one N). HOLY-FUCKIN'-SHIT!!! God has crossed my paths with so many wise guys...this is one of the greatest!!!! I don't think I could sum up everything he said, he's one of the people you've gotta meet to believe this kind of people do exist. He's so fuckin' funny and smart and honest.... He said he wasn't there to teach us, but to learn with us. He always learns from his students, BUT he expected to be a friend, not a teacher. He's just there to guide us. Oh, man....he's incredible.

Third period....Social studies, but our principal, Hector ("2nd year of High School Coordinator", if you please...or just "coordinator"), said some stuff to us, room D. Another incredible person. I'm sure he's going to be just like Fidel to me. We've already talked a bit and it's amazing how, just to see him, you realize he's someone you can trust, who's willing to be there for you. You see him and you feel like he's there to be your friend. He already gave me the job of (secretly) taking assistance everyday. I know we'll be great friends. He's so damn nice. He said..."the ones who are here...you are the best of the best. It is a shame that many of your friends are not here anymore, but you've come a long, long way. The ones who are here, are just the best of this institution....". *Standing ovation by Simeon*.

Fourth period....MATH!!! Holy shit, I understood, I got everything!!!! When I got home, I read the first chapter of the math book. My, this is serious. I'd never done that. But hey, like Geovani said, only because we're in last year, that doesn't mean we're already graduated. You can't take anything for granted.

Fifth Period: oh, geez...the festive lady. We did some work about, uh...asian tigers or something. I think we were reading about asian economy models. No, seriously. I did pay attention about economy models, the ones that make the countries rich at the price of fucking up the Human Rights. Anyway...we were working in groups (it was Norm, Mars, Rod -funny, funny guy, Norm's buddy- and me...I think the four of us will work together most of the times, which rocks. They're all fun people).

Sixth period. Language. First female teacher (her name's Silvia) that rocks my socks off, as much as Fidel, Hector, Geovani and some others. Who could tell, she's so tiny and with a big head. Conclusion: you can't judge anyone by his/her looks. "You guys are here, sitting in your desk...and you know what that means? That no one else is there, that you fought against hundreds of people who wanted that same desk. And you got it".

It's a major thing, indeed. There was a line in front of school when they were giving away applications for new students. School would release them at 4 am one day. The night before, at 9 pm, there were people lining up already. Go figure. I never realized how meaningful it was for me to be sitting in one of those desks. It is hard to be accepted in there. And I've been there for 12 years now.

I never felt so proud *tear in right eye*.

So that was my day. Recesses are quite dull though. I can't be with anybody (no, this is not a complaining). Carmen goes her way because she thinks I'll be with Veronica. Veronica comes my way but she winds up going away with someone else. For some stupid reason, we go our own way and suddenly we run into each other. We make eye contact, she comes to me, hugs me and I just walk off, thank you. So...the first minutes of every recess it's just me, seeing all those people, who I'll probably never see in my life again (at least 85% of them).

Then someone walks up to me: Fidel, Domingo -last year's science teacher...weird name, I know.-, Phillip, who knows, anyone. But the first minutes kind of "define" who I'll be with on that recess. On the first recess I went up to the school's book store to buy the math book and I ran into Cory (well, I was walking behind him and I pushed him). Geez, he and I almost kiss each other in the lips this morning. It was just an accident though, nothing to worry about. I barely saw Dany, on the other hand. Melvin didn't show up either. The Guy....just saw him a couple of times. Once I saw him walking in the 1st Year hall. For half-a-second, I had the feeling it was last year again. I was in 1st year, he was, everybody was. I miss him, despite everything.

Third recess, I spent it most of the time all by myself. Norman came up to me and said: "hey, listen...I saw those two -Carmen and Veronica- chatting...reconciliation is in the air". I go "nah...they do that all the time. They just greet each other and try to hold a decent, kind conversation". "no, I mean it. They were chatting during last recess for quite a long time, just like you and I are right now". Oh, shit. I hope they don't even think about it.

Something fun happened. No, well, it was lame, actually. Silvia was asking each of us our name and an adjective that described us best...it was number 18's turn (c'est moi) and I raise my hand: my name is yetta, yetta, yetta and the adjective that'd describe me is, um....uh, abnormal. Everybody laughed and she looks at me: why?...I can't remember what I said after that though. But it was funny. It was the only thing I could come up with.

I learned what Serendipity means. I thought how stupid it is, that stuff never happens to me. But if we talk about coincidences, I was watching FYE on E! and I was about to turn the TV off. But hey, it was a Disney special. I don't "love" Disney, but I always like to see all the stuff that Walt brought to reality. I didn't turn it off. Two minutes later, the hostess says she's getting on THE AEROSMITH ROCK & ROLLER COASTER!!!!!!!!! I got my tape and, duh, taped it. It was nothing specific about Aerosmith (no song, no interview, jus the ride), but...Gosh....*tear in left eye*.

Oh, well. Enough of today. I'm feeling fucking proud and I'm fucking busy. On the other hand, I'm happy. Which is something quite abnormal in a teenager. A teenager (well, and many other people) would never say: hey, I'm happy. No one likes to accept happiness, because they think they could be happier than that "if just....". Yeah, well, I could be happier if.... But what the hell, I'm feeling happy. Screw parameters and standards. I'm just abnormal.

prev / next