Everybody loves cartoonist handwriting.
Friday, 03/15/02 - 9:29 pm.

Oh, God. I'd never laughed so hard with the people on my school bus. These two guys, Frank and Alonso, were talking about Godzilla and Godzuki (the animated series). They were doing strange sounds, like Godzilla talking to Godzuki and such. Then we changed cartoon, and it was Silverhawks and Thundercats (c'mon, don't tell me you've never watched those)....HOLY FUCKIN' SHIT!!!!! All the things we remembered about those shows, it was just hilarious.

I arrived to school with a huge smile on my face. Ricardo saw me from Julio's office and he got out to say hi. Then he and I walked up to our classroom and I said that I'd brought along the Wayne's World tape. And I brought "The Truman Show", he said. So we exchanged, talked for a few seconds and then he went back to Julio's office.

On the third period, Senior High went to the auditorium to listen to some people's speeches. It was some kind of contest. Rodolfo, Celina, Norman, Dany and three more were participating. Dany talked about the word "crazy", meaning brilliant. Celina's....so good it brought tears to my eyes, about women being considered weak and such...so beautiful (if women were weak, they wouldn't survive one day of their lives...she was talking mostly about women who suffer, physically and emotionally). Norman's was about friendship. Very Emotional. Rodolfo...about the lack of commitment of the teenagers...un-fuckin'-believable. This guy, Allan, talked about hope. Ricardo was going to sit next to me but since there had to be one seat between each student and the rest were occupied, he sat behind me. I untied his shoe laces a couple of times and we had a few laughs throughout the event.

I made a drawing for him. He loves Aragorn and he'd asked me yesterday while we were sitting at the table if I could make him a drawing. So today I drew Aragorn, very simeonistic, chasing the ring. That ring was almost his height and was running, too. Below the drawing I wrote: The Lord Of The Rings (tm). He liked it and asked me to sign it for him. I wrote Aerosmith (I don't have my own signature, sucks to be me) and "One Ring To Rule Them All...". Victor saw what I wrote and he told me that I had the handwriting of a cartoonist. Hell yeah!!! cool...Like "Matt Groenning". Awwwwww, fuck *Simeon and yours truly blush*.

In the afternoon I (and several people) worked in the Loyola chapel, preparing stuff for the hyper-special St. Joseph's mass and for tomorrow's elementary school activity. Carla joined us later (she had to take exams at her university) and she said all she wanted was cold Coca Cola. I bought one for her and she said: girl, you should be called......aw, you're a genius. Thank you. I'm starting to get along with her. Well, other than that, nothing big. Ricardo went to the movies and I thought he wouldn't show up to help, but he did. Shyeah, right on time, when the tasks for today were over.

After that, him, Carmen, Fidel and I sat in the hall. We talked for an hour. It was just great. I mentioned how overprotected I am, that my parents didn't trust me (yesterday they told me that "it'd be nice" that I invited no one while they're in Houston, specially "no little boys") and Fidel said: but you're such a good daughter!!!. I went: AM I NOT??!!. It was hysterical. I was hysterical. Carla and Julio joined the conversation just when I was leaving and they asked what we were talking about. About my dysfunctional family. They laughed. Carmen in particular bursted. She says I'm oh-so-damn-funny, specially when I don't mean to be. Oh, fun.

So basically, those were the brightest moments of today. The guy didn't stay. I saw him leaving when class was dismissed at 12:30, covering a girl's eyes from behind....oh, no, something said on the back of my head. It was a sad "oh, no". Not quite sure why, since I, I myself, admitted that there's no chemistry, no love. Maybe it takes time to get used to that idea. I really find no reason to love him, yet I still love him. Kind of. Less than one week ago though. Anyway, since I'm friends with Ricardo, it's like I'm a bit over the guy. I truly needed a new male friend, with a reason for that friendship to exist beyond the hormones.

On language period, Silvia was checking my homework and said: I thought of you yesterday. I asked: Really? Why?. She goes: I was watching the making of 'Shrek' and I remembered you told me you wanted to study animation. Aaawwww...*tear in left eye*. Isn't it sweet that she thought of me? I mean, after all, we haven't talked a lot.

Aaaand, the most-brightest moment of my day was with Victor and Art. We had our psychology period off, so I started to draw. That's when I made Ricardo's drawing. I drew per-Victor's-request my alien parrot. I gave it to him when it was finished, because he gotta have everything I draw. I also drew Heffer (from Rocko's Modern Life), we talked about Ren & Stimpy, I told him it'd be cool to make a parody of The Lord of the Rings ("The Lord of The Onion Rings", relating it to the Burger King action figures)....every drawing I'd make, he'd go: hey, I want that one, too. I promised I'd give him the drawing of the parrot playing pool. HELL, COOL!!!, he went. Art heard and he kind of...well, the way he reacted let me know that he too wanted it, so I said that I'd make one for him. Done.

Wait, there's more. Victor talked about my cartoonist handwriting (*huge tear in left eye*...In fact...*yours truly eyes, nose and ears flood*). We went out for recess and it just so happened that I was walking behind him, his girlfriend and Art...I caught the converstaion when Victor was saying: and he (pointing at Art) is Heffer and Stimpy...blah, blah, blah...[yours truly]'s drawings are just SO DAM FUCKIN' COOL, man!...Art turned his head and said To Victor...Hey, she's right behind ya...and Victor went on about how much he loved my drawings, how cool they were...they said I blushed.

Awww, fuck. It'd been so damn long since I felt this loved (speaking of my cartoons). Since I felt my drawings were good. Good for somebody else besides myself. Since I felt someone appreciated my drawings for what they are (and sometimes even more). I'm sorry if I sound so self-centered in this entry, it's just that I'm so happy that someone likes that much what I do.

Oh, well. Tomorrow I have math classes and a whole day at school. It should be so nice. I-love-my-life.

'Hope' helps us to survive, and only during the tough times you know the real meaning of this word. 'Hope' may not fix everything, but it does help us go through and move on, to have the braveryto fight for a better tomorrow (is not exactly what Allan said but that's the point).

prev / next