Backstage at the chapel, playing fuckin' Uno during mass.
Saturday, 03/16/02 - 8:09 pm.

*Simeon puts a sign on yours truly:
proud member of the ESJ pastoral group's do-it-all support team*.

I arrived at 8:00 a.m. at school and took math classes until 10:30. By that time, the Loyola chapel had been cleaned up, so there was nothing for me to do, at least for the rest of the morning. I hung out until it was time to rehearse mass, Carmen bought my lunch (she went to the mall with Rodolfo and Phil to buy a blanket -for the prom logo- and they made a stop at Burger King...of course, I wasn't aloowed to get out of school...shit, let me grow up, parental units!!!).

Just so you know, by "we" I mean the pastoral group: Fo (Rodolfo), Phil, Norman, Denver, Carmen, Rod and yours truly. There were also Julio, Karla and ocassionally Ricardo.

Then we headed back to the Loyola chapel. They rehearsed for St. Joseph's mass (along with dozens of other people) and when they were done, it was time for me, among others, to set up everything for the elementary school activity. I worked with Cory the most. And he bought me a can of soda. Aaawww *tear in left eye*.

Throughout the whole thing, we stayed "backstage", in the back of the chapel. There was this former student named Barbara, who was with us, helping with the little kids. She's also from the support team.

They ("we" minus yours truly) played Uno during mass in there, backstage. And shit, they're so fuckin' vulgar when they play. For them, the goal of the game is not to win, but to make miserable your fellow player's life. Their games are quite an event to watch.

Now, we were the do-it-all team. We'd move chairs, take them behind the chapel after rehearsal, take them out back for the little kids, set up flowers, light candles, count them, carry stuff from here to there, clean up the chapel...we'd do anything Karla asked us to do. That's what we were for. And damned proud of it.

So that was basically my day. We stayed until 6:30. School was abandoned. Not a soul, except for Fo, Norman and me. The lights were turned off. Even the principal had left. Besides the three of us, it was just the guards and the dogs they unleash at night (and by the way, they spend the day behind the chapel).

The guy wasn't at school. Duh, of course. It was saturday. For some strange reason, I didn't miss him. I barely thought of him. That is, until someone mentioned him in Julio's office (about the way he dances). But it's not like I was missing him. I thought of him and how cool he is, and it's a shame that I don't know him.

On monday, I'm staying until 10:00 p.m., to prepare everything for St. Joseph's day. Most likely, no entry that day. Oh, joy.

Oh, God. What a lame entry. It contrasts with my beautiful day as a member of the do-it-all support team. You just had to be there to know what I'm talking about. To help, to be there for others when they need you...it's just such a...uh, feeling. You get the idea.



prev / next