*standing ovation for the ESJ class of 2002*
Wednesday, 03/20/02 - 3:19 pm.

It was tuesday, march 19th, 2002 (duh...yesterday).

I got to school at 6:00 a.m. Just a few souls, any of them from the Graphic design commission. I looked around. Nothing was ready for our big day. I almost panicked.

Eventually, prom people started to show up. But by 7:00 a.m., there were many people that had nothing to do there. We made it clear: the party starts at 8:30 a.m.. But you just can't make the masses understand. Oh, the collective stupidity.

Phil, Carmen, yours truly and other people started working on the salt rug. Err, we tried. We did have the chemical stuff to color the salt...but that chemical stuff was for clothes. We ended up not doing anything.

As soon as Norman's girl arrived, she got her prom t-shirt. I'd look at her and it'd be just like she was indeed a senior. And she looked so happy with it on. For several hours I tried to find a sign that'd let me know that the guy had arrived. I was really worried that he had decided to stay home and get depressed for not being a senior. But he did show up, thank God. He put our great class of 2002 shirt on...and I got such an undescriptable feeling...I felt secure, for him and for Claudia. I mean...I'd look at the prom crowd, everybody wearing the same shirt, and they both were in it.

Me...it seems this "do-it-all" tendence is extending beyond the pastoral group. "Do this", "do that"...I heard that several times throughout the day. But it was great. Norman and Carmen were the "masters of ceremony", so to speak. Surprinsingly, their voice didn't fade out.

The stage was in front of the BKB court, so that was the place were everybody danced. Boy, did people dance. They were enjoying themselves. Besides that, there was the ghost house and other games. A little "commercial zone", where you could buy balloons, roses, some food, pizza hut....

People liked it a lot. Around midday, there were a few performances. My friend Clarissa performed as Britney Spears. I hate Britney, but just the fact that it was her...plus, she danced incredibly hot (and had no bra on!). The prom people were in front of stage, kind of a security crew. The guy and some other people would try to jump on stage like obssessed fanatics, and some other would follow them and dragged them out. They did that several times.

I did it, too. Melvin was in some kind of boy band. He looked gorgeous. So I ran in front of stage and put my hands up, and started jumping...he came close to me and grabbed one of my hands, while he pretended he was singing. When he let go, I got back to my place, jumping like a fuckin' psycho, screaming: He touched my hand, HE TOUCHED MY HAND!!!!!. Denver, who was next to me, just laughed. Norman also made a performance, pretending he was some salsa singer...that's when I tried to climb on stage, held him and kissed him, as if I was the biggest fan of that singer, and he was in front of me. It's great to be a psycho.

Later on, it was some dance contest. And after that, what everybody was waiting for....a special performance by Shaq'a and Head. The prom people went nuts. Something to remember when I'm an old lady and I'm bungee-jumping with my grandkids.

A rock band was supposed to make an appearance. They did. It was formed by a group of kids from Junior high. By that time, I couldn't stand my face and went upstairs, to Julio's office to relax a bit and splash my face. It was about 2:30 and some of us had been under the sun since 6:00 a.m. About five minutes later, I see some people coming up to dress up for the parade. What happened to the concert?, I asked. It got called off. People started to "mosh".

Pretty dangeruous shit, if you ask me. If something had gone wrong, it'd have been the seniors' fault. The mass security was our responasibilty. Besides, there were some animals throwing water and bottles, we really didn't want bigger problems. Hell, what could you expect from a band that has a song with an intro that goes: sons of the pig? Pretty stupid shit, if you ask me.

There was this little parade, of big heads (the St. Joseph's (march 19th) celebration -the party that seniors throw- is actually called The Big Heads's day). Each head (South Park charachters, except Kenny...da-mmit) was representing a feeling of us seniors. And to finish, there was another dance contest, only this time it was for couples. The guy danced with Ximena, the girl he was in love last year (I'm not sure if he still does, haven't asked him). They were one of the first coupled to be dismissed and I felt kind of relieved for that. Yeah, call it jealousy.

The party finished, people left and the prom people was exhausted. Norm standed on stage with the megaphone, called everybody and asked how everything went....standing ovation from us to us. We all were very proud, and maybe, hopefully, we all were a little closer to one another.

We had to clean up the whole school afterwards. I could barely touch my face, it was red. So my eyes were. I had to look up many times, because there was always calling me from stage.

But it was great. A great day in my life. Plus, we got a lot of money out of the many activities we had. Only The Haunted House gave us about $300. Though the first kids who got in all excited about it, got out crying. It was that scary. But at the same time, that was the promotion that made other people want to go. Guilty pleasure.

Oh, well. I'll make a make-up entry later. I have to study. Oh, shit. I haven't gotten any decent sleep since saturday night. I'm burned out. And it's not literally. My face is all rea. My eyes are bleeding.

Conclusion: it was a happy, happy day. *Standing ovation for the class of 2002*

prev / next