News about my brother leaving (again).
Sunday, 02/27/05 - 9:19 pm.

I'm seeing Joseph tomorrow, at noon. I can't describe how happy I am about that. It's his birthday. A quarter of century, already. Lord.

I got news this evening, during the weekly "family dinner" (parents, brother, sister, nephew and myself). My brother is moving back in with his girlfriend. Not only have they worked everything out, they're more mature now and have pointed out their flaws, so things will be different this time around. He'll leave in about three weeks.

Thinking of them moving in inevitably brings me to this diary. My first entry was written in september 2001, just after they informed us they were moving in together. Five months ago they split, and now they're back.

I am so glad about that, you know, because his girlfriend was (is) part of our family, and it tore us apart when they broke up. I love her, and I'm so happy she'll be with us again.

But I'm also sad, because of the obvious: he's leaving home. Well, he's leaving for Spain in september, anyway (a scholarship for a Ph.D.), so he'd eventually go away. But it does hurt. I'm gonna be only child again, sooner than I expected.

Within three weeks I'll lose the perks of having the coordinator of my career giving me a ride home every night, and occassionally in the afternoons, and seldom in the mornings. I loved going to his office at night, when my classes were over, and we'd come back home, blasting good music.

Above all, I'll just miss my brother. It was good to see a familiar face everyday, other than my parents. He's a wonderful person, all intellectual and hilarious. And I won't have access to Men's Health, now that I'd discovered it.

He offered me the car last night, when we went to see Finding Neverland (I LOVED IT!). I should have taken it, the streets were kind of empty, since it was 9 pm, and 11 pm. But I wasn't carrying my license either, because it's a sheet of paper, a temporary one while I get the original one next week. But, since my classes begin before he moves out, and since he'll still be giving me a ride until then, he said you'll take the car one day to the university, to practice. I need to learn, I really don't want to go back to depending on my dad. It's annoying for me, and limitating for him.

Bottom line: I'm so sad he's leaving home, but I'm happy he and his girl worked things out. I'm happy I'll get to see her every week, like we used to. And hey, at least I won't have to deal with the awkardness of living with a professor. Yes, he's going to be my professor this semester.

I watched Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind this morning. And I taped When Harry Met Sally to watch it later. ESoTSM blew me away, as much as Finding Neverland did. You know I love mindfucks. I love Johnny Depp, I love Jim Carrey. My favorite actors ever. Both should get an Oscar tonight. Jim Carrey is horribly underrated.

Today it ocurred to me that Joe hasn't come online for a reason: last time we spoke he talked about a relative that was dying. Maybe that's what keeping him from coming online. Or he's blocked me. Or he has better things to do. Or whatever.

I for one, have to go and call my boyfriend right now. She saw him in the store he works at, handling a switchblade. I fear he'll chop a finger off one of these days, but I trust he's a pro.

Right. Good night.

prev / next