I GOT A JOB!
Wednesday, 04/13/05 - 9:41 pm.

There's that old saying, when life closes a door, it opens a window. More and more things have broaden the mental abyss that I'm creating between Joseph and myself...but just so you know, I'm not trying too hard. I'm not trying at all. I'm not over him. I'm just busier than usual.

So now that Joseph closed the door, the psychology department of my university opened a window...the size of a door. I went to a meeting this afternoon, with Victor, because we'd been chosen for a project.

Mr. PhD, whom we call Wizard of Oz (such a busy man), had requested our presence. He's the head of the department, an Eminence, if you will, like most jesuits are. So Victor and I were joking that he'd been kind enough to give us five minutes of his terribly PhD schedule.

Case in point: the project is a huge research about child abuse, in all forms. Victor and I will be doing an internship, we'll be assisstants to the investigator(s?). Basically, we have to make lots of phone calls, and do interviews, and work with statistics...we have to face rejection, too, because the institutions we need to make a research on are always scared that it's all about bringing to public light their incompetency. "No, sir, we just need you to give us some info about the subject".

We haven't set up the schedule, there'll be a meeting next week for that. I'm scared that I won't have as much time as I used to. That spare time when I'm not in class is precious, it allows me to be a little head with the assignments, and be some sort of "leader" of the group (Irene, Victor and Priscilla), because while they're working (well, Victor doesn't work either, but he's kind of lazy), I'm arranging our assignments.

But obviously, it's the opportunity of my life. And I wasn't going to turn it down. Beyond the money, beyond the fact that it's a job, there's the priceless fact that it's an experience not all psychology students have at 3rd year. I'm working with a very important university from Spain (I was chosen, by name), on a deep subject.

It's a tough subject, and it's a tough work. It's a JOB. I'm getting paid, and all. Victor and I thought it'd be $200 for the whole thing, but it's $200 a month...for 12 months. AND it's a job that directly relates to my career, and I'm only halfway through it.

I'm nervous, but I'm so looking forward to it. This is probably the biggest challenge of my life so far, but I'm ready.

Now, I shall go back to my academic assignments, without minding the headache (why the fuck am I getting daily headaches?) and my subconscious tries to start dwelling on you know who.

prev / next