Eye-candy, grades and a few other people.
Tuesday, 05/10/05 - 10:11 pm.

I'm really not sure where to begin...oh, hey, how about on that part in which I was entering campus at the same time as one of my eye-candies? I mentioned him once, he's the guitar player of a well-known band (been in the newspaper and touring abroad and stuff), and is wearing sunglasses most of the times.

I must admit that I think I must be his eye-candy, too. Ok, so he wears sunglasses, I can't really tell, but I always catch him looking in my direction. Yesterday he walked so close to me (when he had the whole hallway to himself) that I thought he was going to tell me something. So today we entered almost at the same time, and he was walking almost next to me the whole time, until I casually found Irene sitting at a table and I changed the course. It was pretty cool, for some reason. Really nice.

It was not nice, however, seeing Joseph. He didn't see me. The good news is that now I'm not THAT affected by him. But it still makes me feel sick. Minutes ago, I'd seen his girlfriend (is she his girlfriend, really?). My God, she looked awful. She has a pretty face, but sometimes she doesn't dress too nice. I hope she isn't anorexic. What made me laugh, though, was one of Priscilla's e-mails, in which she tore that girl apart. "Her legs!", "her hair!". I'm not a fan of criticizing people like that, but, having a slightly disturbed psyche right now, I had to wholeheartedly agree.

I spent a good part of the afternoon near the psychology instructors' cubicle. I hope I'll get a desk one day there. There's this married couple, they're my classmates, so we're making plans for tomorrow's exposition in Experimental Psychology. They'll lend us their laptop and we'll put the projector. Well, while Irene went to do all that burocratic stuff to get one from the university, I stayed outside the cubicles.

Hey, you, writer, this girl said to me. She's my Social Psychology instructor, and I'm pretty sure I've talked about her. She's part of the group in 5th year, and I kind look up to them. We started to talk about my book and books in general. She's well read, I tell you. Maybe one day I can have a longer conversation with her. She's not into poetry, just like me. More into novels and short stories. She said she'd only seen my book around, but hoped to read it soon.

I just know there's someone who bought it and is passing it along. No wonder sales are bad.

Later on, the couple called me up into the cubicle. You, the 9s and 10s*. They were trying to fix a slideshow for tomorrow's exposition. I fixed it. It was nice helping them out. I like pretending I know how to do computer stuff. Well, yeah, somehow I managed to work everything out.

* People say my friends and I are the 9s and 10s, because those are our "usual" grades. Not really, really (in fact, I fear Priscilla got a bad grade in the Social midterm). Although I must admit that gives me a very filthy sense of elitism. Yesterday, Victor, Irene and I were outside a building in campus, and our Latinamerican Literature professor walked in (her office is in that building) and went: hey, it's the 10s. Because only four people got a 10 in her midterm. And there we were.

Speaking of midterms, here are my results:
- Industrial Psychology: 9.5/10.
- Latinamerican Literature: 11/10. I got the extra point on papers, but since that's not legal, let's say I got a 10/10.
- Experimental Psychology: my shame. 8.8/10, because of the damned example.
- Social Psychology: 11/10. I got a 9, but I answered a bonus question, worth 2 points. See, kids, reading further than the necessary for the exam is quite useful. Ok, 10/10.

That's got me happy. You know how anorexics relay on their body to feel in control? I relay my grades. It's a bit more healthy, too, I believe.

Tonight I met the girl that Joseph told me she liked him (what a long way to refer to her). I feel kind of bad, because she hangs out with Joseph's friends who ended up being my friends, so they ditch her to talk to me. She didn't mind me too much (I was talking to C) but now I don't fear the billboard near the university that I see every night: it's an ad for vodka, and there's a girl who looks a lot like her. I always get the feeling she thinks I'm a loser for having Joseph break up with me. I don't know.

Well, that's been my day. I'm in love with Joe when I go to bed and when I wake up, but everything in between, I already know it's pointless to even wish for something to happen. I'm always looking forward to our conversations online, though, that gets me through the day. But to be fair, my days are quite interesting in their own right.

Good night.

prev / next