You'll get your check on the 30th (!!!)
Friday, 05/13/05 - 9:41 pm.

Today was considerably better than yesterday. I had no time to dwell on anything. Victor and I had an appointment with Mr. PhD, regarding our job as...collaborators? Well, that helping around someone from some university in Spain, on a major research about child abuse.

I was in campus at 3, thinking that perhaps I could start writing a story for some contest. I sat on a bench, after voting (today was the university elections), but Samuel showed up. So he stayed with me until 4, we talked about music, mostly, and he made me listen to the Jesus Superchrist soundtrack. Hardcore.

He's in a band with Joe, you see, so I learned they have rehearsals tomorrow. A very irrelevant fact, may I add, but I was stupidly glad to know anything about Joe's schedule.

So he walked me to the high-class building where Mr. PhD has his office. Then Victor showed up. Samuel and Victor are friends, too. Pppffftt, big surprise, they are, along with Joe, exceptional guitar players.

Well, we went into his office. The secretary told us Mr. PhD had an emergency and had to leave, but we could go to a back room and do a little digest on everything we'd read so far about the topic. That goddamn building is so elegant. "Our" office had ergonomic chairs with a matching table, and bookcases in the walls, and a black flat-screen computer. Stuff like that.

So Victor and I had been working for a while, writing, when Mr. PhD came in. We had a little chat about the research, we'll meet the investigator as soon as she comes back from Spain next week...aaaanddd...

You'll get your check on the 30th. I mean, if you want.

You have to know we're not in this for the money. Just the chance alone to be chosen for this huge project is a fucking HONOR. But hearing the word check made me feel something strange, in a good way. Something new, something between a warmth all over and independency. I've never had a job before.

And here I am now, at 3rd year in my career, with the opportunity of a job directly related to it, that offers me a lot of perks (Mr. PhD has ordered a computer to make our work easier -!!!-), and makes a perfect reference for my future as a professional. I will work so hard to be worth of this.

As a matter of fact, I should start right now, wrapping this entry up and going to type what Victor and I wrote today in the office (wwwwooohhh, an office!). I just want to say I've been too busy to have a social life, which is why I missed C piercing my ear today, and why I haven't thought about Joseph.

I haven't heard from Joe, either. That sucks, but if he doesn't like me, it's best to let go, ain't it? Exactly. Bye.

prev / next