Live 8 and other conflicts.
Saturday, 07/02/05 - 10:28 pm.

I'm kind of pissed that I missed Live 8, mostly Paul McCartney and Joey Kramer and Tom Hamilton (hello, Aerosmith?). Watching it would've made me feel part of history...but anyway, all I get is Mtv and I heard their coverage wasn't that good.

I think back when the invasion on Iraq (it was an invasion, then it came war) started. I was moved to tears seeing the protests worldwide. But that changed nothing. Ever since, I read in the newspapers, everyday, to this very day, about suicide attacks and dead soldiers and "collateral damage", and tortures (still), and people go on with their lives because it's too far away, and "yeah, what else is new?". Bush said, yes, boo-hoo, so many casualties, but it's all worth it. Whatever, dude, you're sick.

Live 8. Africa equals poverty, how minimalist. I'm amused, and I love the idea of all these concerts, but most people thrilled with it will keep throwing away their food when they're stuffed...it's so easy for them. They'll keep thinking "oh, I'll donate a quarter, that's like a thousand dollars down there" (because all poor countries are below the rich countries). Perhaps you'd enjoy flushing your ignorance down the toilet before you open your mouth.

- Victor: we should've stayed in the Ardipithecus phase. Why the hell did we evolve for? Imagine if we still were monkeys, we'd still be partying out of instinct, harming no one.

*

I finally went swimming again. I'm out of shape. Afterwards, I went to read newspapers to the university library. In the afternoon I got an indigestion for taking a 1-hour nap right after having a heavy lunch. I tried to study and failed. Drank a Starbucks frappuccino and talked to Joseph several times.

Joseph drives me nuts sometimes. In a negative way. I don't even know how to explain it...we're on the phone, I bring a topic I didn't know was a touchy subject, he gets all emotive and says he'll hang up because he doesn't want to bother me anymore. I HATE THAT. I told him he always does the same shit, and I'm left feeling guilty. I'm the stupid one, he excuses himself, it was a stupid reason, blablabla, but that doesn't solve anything. It keeps happening.

He says sometimes he feels I look down on him, by the things I say. I don't agree with some things he does, but I don't think any less of him. I said I'm sorry, it wasn't my intention to make him feel bad. I must've given him the wrong impression, but it also seems he's the one that starts comparing. God, there's nothing to compare between us.

After a kind of sort of long argument, he said "I give up" and signed out. Well, I'm sorry THAT wasn't trivial to me, Joseph. Fuck you. You fucked it up, I had it worked out but you had to get disconnected.

Apparently, in spite of massive responses and apologies, today is not the day of solving stuff.

prev / next