Catching up: plans that fell through, etc.
Thursday, 07/28/05 - 8:24 pm.

Well, I got my computer this morning. It's been a long, awful day, and I will be kind enough to be brief about it.

I was thinking of taking Frog to the vet, because I'm afraid of those bumps in her stomach, that could be cancer. Then, in the afternoon, I was thinking of taking Cel to the movies, to see be cool. She's leaving tomorrow, but I've told my parents it's next week. Perhaps it'd be useful to remember that she's Joseph neighbor.

Well, by miracle, I found Cel in her house. But the phone call fell through twice, and I couldn't call her again (YES, WTF, DAMNED PHONE COMPANY). So we didn't made any plans in the end. I was about to take Frog when the man "treating" the computer called my dad, it was ready to be picked up. And I had to go because my dad knows shit about computers.

I came home with a shitload of tasks, in an empty computer that was supposed to be cleaner and faster. He erased everything, but it's still slow. The RAM memory we got wasn't compatible. Bottom line: when I came home, Victor had called, saying we had to meet up at 2 in some public school where we'd be interviewing children (for the project). So I stopped trying to get in touch with Cel. She didn't call back, either.

I'm a little ashamed to admit that today I rode a bus for the first time. I'd been on buses before, duh, but just for school field trips, not actually paying fare. The public school was quite near campus, so Victor and I met up there and took the bus. My first $0.20 for riding a bus. It was kind of exciting (I'm lame), though it only took like three minutes.

We spent the whole afternoon interviewing children. I interviewed five, and I got particularly fond of two girls. They were cute and very kind. I'll see them on saturday, when I go interview their parents. It'll be a tough day.

Victor had sent me an e-mail two days ago, hey, we met up with Sara (the lady in charge of the project) this afternoon. Why didn't you show up? Uh, well, I HAD NO ACCESS TO INTERNET AND SHE SENT ME AN E-MAIL TO TELL ME ABOUT THE MEETING. So there. Damn.

I've been secretly pissy today, for having all my plans fall through. I tried to welcome that, because that's life, and I got to ride a bus, etc. But I still hate it.

Oh, and it'll still take me a few days to get this computer back to normal. My dad is getting on my nerves. He expects me to know everything, and to do it right away. Especially his stuff.

I'm so tired, and I need to talk to Joseph. I'm too tired to plan an escape to go see him this weekend, I'll see what I come up with. My brother is going to Guatemala for the weekend, my sister is going to Mexico for the week. I'm not going anywhere, and I have a lot of work to do, and to put up with a set of overprotective parents. I could cry.

You know what, though? After a loooooooong chat with my niece last night (from 9 to 11, and she wouldn't shut up!), and watching wife swap, I'm now entirely convinced that my nephew and niece are definitely not like their peers. They're more aware of a few things most children in wealthy countries ignore, and they're, for the most part, respectful of their parents. It's cute how they understand, "it's because they care about us", and how they tell them the truth, etc. I liked that realization (even if I had to sit through 2 hours of preteens stories about precocious former best friends and middle schools).

Of course, this morning my niece had a fit and she was answering in a rude way to anyone who dared telling her to please hurry up. But I'm willing to skip that this time.

I'll go back to putting this thing back together. Thank you for your attention. Good night.

prev / next