Getting enlightned by erudites.
Tuesday, 11/01/05 - 10:35 pm.

Oh, man these days have just been so cool. Beggining with the wind. I love windy days, and these are the windiest of the year.

I've found a spot in the psychology lab, a computer. I went there in the morning and worked for three hours straight, making a lot of progress. See, my own computer has a stupid glitch when you scroll up or down in a window. It's like you hit refresh every inch you move, so it takes forever to move around, say, in a document. Editing is nearly an impossible task in my computer.

In the afternoon, I had to go to the stupid public school to interview teachers for the child abuse project. But first I met up with Victor for lunch, and we had Burger King. Then we hung out at the cubicle, until Sara, the lady of the project, showed up.

Actually, I like going to the school (just getting there), because I get to ride a bus, and for someone who'd never done that in her life, it's some sort of a thrill. Well, at the school we actually had nothing to do, Victor and I, because the teachers we'd been interviewing filled another interviews by themselves. So Sara told us we could leave. Victor and I always make our way back to campus walking. Which, again, is a thrill for me.

We were back in campus at 3. And from that time until nearly 5:30, we were walking back and forth. We went to get our paycheck. I'm very annoyed by all this interviewing, but I'll seriously miss getting a paycheck every month, once the project finishes, in february.

Well, you see, my friends and I (you know the gang, Victor, Michelle, Irene and Priscilla), plus another guy, who funnily enough was once my religion teacher when I was in school, and he's actually pretty young...er, all of us are working on a project about a current event in the country.

We chose "culture of violence", all right? But the name itself means it's not a current event, but a structural dysfunction in society. So we chose something related to that culture of violence, and Victor and I [after coming from the school, going to the cubicle to pick up my USB memory, and going to the psych lab to see what I'd done in the morning] went to see Mr. PhD, because he knows everything, nearly, and he could answer some questions.

He let us in his office, and kindly gave us a lot of his time. People are afraid of him, because he's this jesuit eminence, but he's quite all right. People also say we have connections with him. I don't think so...Victor, maybe. But Mr. PhD does know we're good students. Which is probably why we both get paychecks once a month.

Anyway, we left his office enlightned. And we went to look for Mr. Basket, because the research is for Social Psychology II, and he's our professor. There was a new secretary in the building he's in, and she wouldn't let us in (the other girl knew me and would let me through the door as if I were VIP). Luckily, my brother, whose office is in the same building, was coming down the stairs, and told her we could come in. Another erudite on our way (yes, my brother comes in the erudite category, too).

So we got to Mr. Basket's office, and the door was closed. I am his instructor for Psychodynamics, so you could say I have the status to knock on his door. He let us in, and in the middle of our conversation, he told us he was sure our research would be one of the best. That took us by surprise, so Victor and I just said we hope so, looking at the floor. So you'd be exposing on the 30th...

Ah, yes. Because Mr. Basket is arranging a bunch of conferences, for three days (I helped last year in december, along with other people, and Mr. Basket took us for pizza as a thank-you). And the best works of this current-event thing will be part of those. So he was telling us straight-up that ours was going to be one of the best. My ego is huge right now.

I am ridiculously positive. Tomorrow is a holiday, and I'm meeting with my friends, to work on the Culture of Violence thing, and going to the movies with my brother afterwards. I want to scream, I'm not sure why. I guess I'm excited, this has been a good week so far, and it seems it'll be a good week in its entirety.

Except I didn't see Joseph today. He went to get his ID today, seven years later than he was supposed to. He also got a haircut. I LOVE when people get haircuts. Especially guys. Especially Joseph. He's doing fine, too, he's earning money, he's finally legal...we could very well get married. I was telling him I want to adopt a kid and save him/her from getting that disorder in which they can't get emotionally attached to anyone past a certain age. He says we're not financially stable, though. Oh, but of course.

So, I'll get back to work, given I have all this disgustingly positive energy. Yay.

prev / next