Birthdays, interviews and other quasidisorders.
Saturday, 11/05/05 - 11:05 pm.

It's my brother Alan's birthday today (yay!). And speaking of birthdays, it was D's birthday yesterday. Strangely enough, I ran into him, so I got to wish him a happy day in person. It was slightly awkward, and a little dull.

Things tend to come back to you, you know? Within two days, I've found my friend Patch, it was D's birthday, and I had cuts on my arm. It brought me memories from senior high, because I remember suffering a lot in D's birthday, while I was cutting at its best, and Pach was in front of me everyday. Yeah, whatever.

I'm thinking my mom has a Benign Paroxysmal Positional Vertigo, but I'm just assuming. At least she can walk now. My brother is coming from Houston on monday, just pure coincidence (three days, to help on a project), but he'll take her to see a good doctor. My parents hit the jackpot raising two doctors. They know everybody and doctors' relatives sometimes are treated for free (the fracture at the end of my spine, we only had to pay for X-rays and pills [I never took]).

This morning sucked. Victor, Michelle and I had to go to the 45-minute-away town on our own. We had a lot of trouble with the cab and the stupid invoice, that delayed our schedule one hour. We'd send out request for a few parents to show up at 9, and we showed up at 10. But I think we didn't miss anybody.

Interviewing parents takes too long. In two hours, I could only see three. Well, two. One was a cousin, she was telling me about how her 10-year old cousin (that we'd interviewed before) was abandoned by her parents and so she tried to hang herself from the bathroom ceiling. You just have to listen to these people, they need to be listened.

Most are people with no education, so you also have to have a lot of patience. Simple questions can be hard to descipher for them, and even if they were beat up, asking "did you suffer physical abuse in your childhood?" will get you a "no", because for them it's not abuse, it's discipline, something kids deserve. It's really sad. And I nearly lost it with one mother.

Anyway, we came back to campus at 1:30. My brother said we should go have lunch somewhere, so he invited me to KFC, bless his heart. Unfortunately, for dinner we had pizza. On thursday, I had Burger King, and that night I had another kind of fried chicken. I'm trying not to have a cognitive distorsion here, but I do fear I might gain a lot of useless fat. That's just unhealthy. And I'm not thinking in terms of weight (there isn't even a scale in this house), I just remember the guy in Super-Size Me.

Jesus, I have a headache. I've been having slight headaches lately. Strangely enough, since my mom got sick. But it could also be the flu, I got it last night (I know it was last night), because my four friends (P, I, M and V) have it. Damn them. But I'm meeting with them tomorrow afternoon, to study for an exam on monday, and that makes me happy.

But first, I'll be stopping by Joseph's house. I want to see him so badly. This is what watching "Jerry McGuire" does to me. Actually, that movie does a lot of thing to me, emotionally speaking. But let's not go there, yes? Anyway, I love Joseph. Good night.

prev / next