He has the right to be mad, but he's also very sick.
Saturday, 11/12/05 - 8:36 pm.

I am incredibly exhausted, and this exhaustion doesn't go away with anything. I wake up tired already. I hope I can make it through what's left of the semester.

Good news is that we have wrapped up the 45-minute-away town thing. No more going there. We went there this morning, but no parents showed up for our interviews. Whatever. It's best that way. One place down, two more to go.

I drove to the Coffee Cup with my two brothers this afternoon. YES, I DROVE. I had no trouble whatsoever, and I was actually very excited to show off my skills. Who knew this day would come, eh?

We came back home, and my brother Alan and I watched the hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy. He couldn't stand it, though, and I myself didn't find it as amusing as I did the first time I saw it. So I cut it.

Actually, I cut it because my mom wanted to talk to the both of us us. I don't think I've mentioned this HUGE family feud going on, regarding my extended family. My dad, we've concluded, is very pathological in some senses, but also my brother from Houston made a deafening mistake, when he came this week, that even has my dad saying he only has four children. I admit my brother lacked prudence, but my dad's also sick in the head sometimes.

This family conflict, I never quite understood it. I still don't, but I believe it has something to do with our uncles and dad's cousins and whatever stealing our (my siblings' and my) inheritance from my dad's parents. This isn't about anything material, though, as my brother Alan said: did I know I had that inheritance? No. Do I need it? No. Do I want it? It's highly unlikely. It's probably just a square meter of land. It's just that atttitude, the attitude of these people, of coming and taking something that doesn't belong to them. That was mine.

My mom started to cry while she was warning us that my dad, as soon as he comes home from the vigil (the anniversary of the jesuit martyrs of my university), is going to give us a looooong, long, long lecture, and was also begging us to keep the family unit, not putting my brother from Houston aside for what he did. What the heck, no. I think she fears all of us five children will tear apart like my dad has with his family. But that's not going to happen, really.

I'll just listen to my dad's babbling. I pity my mom, she has to deal with this sick man (I love my dad, but he is fucking psycho), and she's finally admitted she lives very repressed by him.

So, um, I guess I'll finish this entry so I can work a little on my assignments before the old man comes home and makes us have a three-hour-long pow-wow.

prev / next