Anorexia and schedule for half a week.
Sunday, 11/27/05 - 9:16 pm.

PAST: The daughter of a couple friend of the family, died at 35. She was divorced, and all I remember about her is her friendly skeleton.

PAST: The year I was a senior, a classmate I never spoke to started losing weight fast. Her sister was already diagnosed.

NOW: Three years later, I hear there is a massive case in my school, a group of five girls, in 8th grade. One of them used to be overweight.

NOW: He offered me to take a case, "she called me from a restroom, when she was having a crisis. There's no family approach for her, she doesn't live with her family". I could only step back and say I'm only in my 3rd year.

NOW: This girl heard from my friend what I was doing, and she inmediately asked if I was looking for a testimonial. I can't thank her enough for sharing her story with me. It's scary how every detail about pathology is part of her experience. So maybe my theory wasn't that wacky.

TOMORROW: "She's very extroverted, but one day she confessed about her eating-purging cycle". I told him I could invite his girlfriend for coffee and listen to her, and maybe say a word or two, but this isn't about food or vanity, and she needs professional help.

TOMORROW: "There are no statistics, you know", I'll say to my professor, "because this has yet to be considered a problem of public health". Right now my biggest concern is that an hour isn't enough to tell him all I've learned (and remembered) in these six months.

Psh, what the fuck. Now I'm "poetic". Anyway, it's true. My anorexia nervosa exposition is tomorrow, I've rehearsed twice and I just can't speak for less than an hour, which is the scheduled time. I seriously learned a lot.

***

SCHEDULE FOR THE LAST THREE DAYS OF THE SEMESTER, ACCORDING TO ME:

- Monday: Bender test quiz, turning in the third psychological report at the clinic, both at 9 am; anorexia exposition at 2:30 pm.

- Tuesday: helping out (BEING EXPLOITED) at the child abuse project workshop, which sucks, because Sara, the lady in charge, thinks she can make me feel inferior by drinking coffee and having cupcakes in front of me and not offering me any; finishing Social Psychology group article.

- Wednesday: helping out again (ugh); applying Bender test to the patient at the clinic at 10 am; having the Social Psychology article exposition between 2 and 3 pm. Last day of the semester.

SCHEDULE FOR THE LAST THREE DAYS OF THE SEMESTER, ACCORDING TO MY FRIEND IRENE:

- Monday: going for mexican food after we're done with our psychiatric disorder expositions (she comes right after me, and I go right after Michelle, she goes right after Victor...only Priscilla has hers on wednesday).

- Tuesday: going with me to straighten our hair and pierce our ears.

- Wednesday: going for ice cream after the Social Psychology exposition.

Such is life.

prev / next