Now you're playing by my rules.
Tuesday, 03/07/06 - 10:30 pm.

I guess right now I should be at this, err, pub? where Joe and his band are playing a Stone Temple Pilots tribute. I honestly wanted to go, but...I just didn't try hard. Last night he told me that if I showed up, they'd play any song I wanted. That's awfully sweet of him. Which scares me too much, so maybe it's a good thing I stayed home. But he even had a phrase for such eventuality: it would be a shame.

Speaking of eventualities, last night I realized I'd blocked my friend Michelle. What the hell? I unblocked her and said hi, and she said I had fallen from Heaven, and she needed a huge favor. Alright, alright. Turns out the bank was late with her student credit, so she had no money to pay the university; you don't pay the university, you don't register subjects, you miss a semester. Luckily, I had $300 in my drawer: a $200 check and a hundred in bills. Sounds like I'm rich, but that's the money I'm saving for the laptop my brother in El Paso already got me and will bring me at the end of the month, when he comes for my other brother's wedding. More on my laptop (and how I plan on paying for it) some other day.

She needed nearly $80, and this morning I met her at the mall. There she discovered the bank had taken $20 out of her already empty credit, on account of interests. So I had to come back home and get some more money, and my dad was outraged at how they'd fucked her up, and at how carelessly the bank treated these cases. Well, then I drove her to the bank and stood in line with her. She kind of overwhelmed me with her chat about this new boyfriend of hers, the whole time we were together, but everything was ok.

Now, the feature presentation of this entry: Joseph came to my house this afternoon, after...over a year and a half. Jesus.

I tried to remain calm the whole day, and I figured I wouldn't tell my parents I was expecting him. At about 3 o'clock, just as he had said, the doorbell rang, and Rose (the housekeeper) told me it was for me. My mom was sitting in the dining room, and I walked through it to the living room, to open the door for him. He looked very handsome, and he made fun of Frog.

I was telling him my mom was in the dining room and he could greet her, but then she was gone. That upset me, but I carried on. We sat and talked for a long time, maybe 45 minutes, thought I can't tell for sure. It was really cool, although I hated that we were sitting on different couches. I was kind of expecting one (any) of my parents to come out and greet him, I wanted that so bad, but it didn't happen. With the privacy they gave us, though, I could've fucked him right there in the living room, if you excuse the unlady-like expression.

The idea of him coming was to be seen by my parents. That hadn't happened and he had to go. But I can't just leave. Look, this is like the first time over again (when I waited 'til he was leaving to introduce him to my parents and my dad gave him a speech), he whispered. The important stuff, we'd whisper it. I'm not gonna go and drag them out, if they won't come out, screw them. Seriously. I wasn't gonna play by their traditional rules, anymore.

So I walked him out, and so did Frog, who slept peacefully under the living room table through our conversation. Joseph insists that if I am to have a dog, I should get a collie. He says he'll buy me one, but if he does, he'd damn better pay for the vaccines, shampoos and food. He's making a lot of money, anyway. He spoke mostly of his job, and I didn't mind, because he made me so proud (and I found the reason why he was so bitchy two nights ago; lazy employees, in a nutshell).

We kissed a few times on the doorway. And he said he'd come back often. And...he said I looked VERY pretty today, which is always a compliment that melts me (doesn't take much, does it?).

I expected a lecture when I went into the studio, where my parents were, but my dad in his usual nice self only said, "hey, I was gonna use the computer, but I feared I'd mess up what you were doing" (he still fears the minimize window option, you see). Nothing happened, and later on he left to go pick up my nephew, who's staying home for the week.

As I suspected, my mom waited until we were home alone to approach me. "So, Joseph came", she said, curling my hair, a sign of awkwardness. And you know what, I told her. I was going to have him greet her, but she vanished from the room. "I was a little shy", she said, "besides, he's your friend, he came to see you, not us". But you wanted me to bring him home!

And I said, I don't know if this is how it worked in YOUR times, that the girl had to drag the parents out to greet someone she brought home, but things aren't like that anymore. She admitted it was impolite what she'd done, and next time she'll greet him. She emphasized next time, knowing there WILL be next times.

It's by my rules now.

prev / next