A campus with newbie enviroment and a surprise appearance.
Monday, 03/13/06 - 10:59 pm.

The semester began today. I was rather uncomfortable, with campus filled with newbies. Deep down, I was excited to go back, but it didn't feel the same...I can't really describe what "the same" is, but I certainly got a different feeling this time.

The child abuse project "headquarters" (a few papers and one or two computers) had to be moved, because the office was going to be occupied by an eminence that will be coming from Spain shortly. I've met him, and I've read a few of his writings. If only I was as consistant. See, everytime I voice/post my opinion somewhere (about any subject), I'm so happy with it, so sure about it, but then someone comes and picks a flaw. And I feel stupid and ignorant, which is really what I am :(

Anyway, we've moved to another building, and happily I'm a few offices from my brother's. Just today I dropped by and we chatted for a couple of minutes. He's teaching Experimental Psychology again this semester. He's started to write articles for magazines, he writes so well (form and content) and I'm so proud of him. I feel so proud to be his sister, and I love it when people find out...which is kind of pathetic, it makes me feel like I'm cashing in on his success and coolness.

Yeah, yeah, I'm going through "I hate myself" phase. I've been feeling quite retarded. But in my defense, it's well justified.

On my way to that office, I found Victor and Victoria. Nature calls, as we say; we never have trouble finding each other, my friends and I. I caught up with Victoria, she paid me $5 I'd lent her once we went out for lunch. Then Victor and I headed to the project meeting at the new office. It was a short one, luckily.

Meeting up again with Victoria, we hung out for a while, and then we found Michelle (I said, nature calls). I sent a text message to Irene, telling her she was missing all this. As I later learned, her cellphone was stolen...with a gun to her head. Fuck this shit, I say.

We were catching up (mostly about Victoria and Michelle's love stories gone bad) and suddenly they tell me to run around, and Joseph is walking by. He'd told me he wasn't going to come to the university, because I wasn't going to be available for a long time and maybe the time we spent wouldn't be worth his trip all the way here.

He approached and he said he ended up coming because he wanted to surprise me, and see me. At that time, Victor's girlfriend showed up too, and Victoria had to leave for church (those religious people...). Michelle was going to be with her for a while, but then it was off by herself until class. Too bad.

Ah, yes. Victor has a girlfriend. He's been pretty quiet about it, but I'm not the person who asks for details (the other girls in the gang, however, are). I'm kind of bummed that he ended up with the friend of the girl I wanted him to end up with, but such is life. He hadn't had a fling since he broke up with our friend Angie, a few years ago now, and he even had admitted he missed having someone. I'm happy for him.

Joseph and I went for ice cream and spent about two hours talking and cuddling , until it was time for my class. On mondays I only have one class, at 6:30, which sucks. Especially now that he won't be coming everyday. For one he's also uncomfortable with the "newbie enviroment" in campus. Younger kids are coming in, and most of his friends already graduated. But also...well, compare the earlier crowds that got in the university, they were all grunge and rock & roll. These new crowds are bubblegum pop. Not very fun, in all honesty.

At some point, Joe walked by, yelled my name and said hi. Joseph said that, with me, he's the only guy he's ever been jealous of. "Really?", I asked, apparently surprised. I told him he was the guy who was playing the Stone Temple Pilots tribute we didn't go to; he replied he'd have been smoking the whole concert if we'd gone. I didn't tell him I still have a crush on him...or more than a crush. I'm not leaving Joseph, because I'm madly in love with him, but it's still pretty hard, what I feel for Joe. And it sucks.

Back to happier topics, we saw our friend Fer drive away in his modified beetle. He removed the whole upper part. Joseph and I have a lot of laughs picking on him (behind his back...well, he does it in his face, too). The car looks like a giant wheelchair, actually.

Oh, class. I have Psychology Applied to Industry. I hate that field, and I'm even more down at the fact that it isn't the funny professor I thought it'd be. It's a flat lady, though she's pregnant. But somehow, it felt nice being in class again, especially with all those nice people. That's where Irene told me about the cellphone.

I still feel wildly ignorant, but it's been a good day, so I'll sleep thinking about the latter instead.

prev / next