Free mayo, free bed and nearly memories.
Friday, 03/17/06 - 9:53 pm.

I suppose my feeling tired lately meant I was incubating a flu. It developed entirely today, just on the day I had to go to my old school, for the yearly celebration of St. Joseph's Day, in which the seniors organize some sort of fair.

My nephew was excited over SJD. I wasn't. I, luckily, haven't missed school since I graduated, some...wow, five years ago. Five years ago my class was throwing the SJD party. I always thought it sucked. This year, more than ever. There's not much to do, anyway. Paint your hair, buy junk food, see people being ridicule on stage, having their fifteen minutes of fame lipsynching or dancing to some stupid music.

I drove there, and stayed with Irene. She's a teacher there, and teachers are assigned zones to watch over. Victoria was there, too, and we kind of reminisced our senior time. I found my nephew with his hair covered in flour, and we agreed we'd leave at one pm.

Denver was hanging around, too. It was nice to have a chat with him, like good friends. Like nothing happened. Nothing happened between us, really? I'm prone to questioning my own memories, so it's a good thing I wrote about it. I can't believe I fell in love with him, and he was this cute bastard (damn, I'm starting to have flashbacks) who made me feel so good and then hurt me a lot. But none of that mattered, and like I said, we had a little chat. A silly, empty little chat.

I saw Fidel, too. It was just a quick hello. I have all these beautiful memories, but I can't bother trying to relive them. I know we had a special friendship, and I hope he does, too. I will always cherish that.

Not many people from the class of...uh...my class, 200...2? Class of 2002, yeah, there were a couple of them. It's not people I can hold a real conversation with, but I love seeing them and remembering how they used to pretend they were gay and stuff (one of them told me "tell Victor I send him a kiss"). Good times...that I've pretty much blocked, or simply forgotten.

I was sick, though, and I wasn't going to stand in the same spot the whole morning, with all those mixed feelings of nostalgia and rejection (me, I was rejecting, I mean). I decided to sneak out and go see Joseph for a while.

His mom opened the door, and when I descended to his room (because it's like under the house), I found him shirtless, doing bussiness online. I just crashed on his bed, barely explaining I was sick and tired, the latter perhaps because of the former. He came to bed with me and gave me massages, and in the end we just took a nap. Until I heard footsteps rushing down the stairs, and his mom screaming his name. I'd parked the car in front of the garage, and she needed to go out.

It was a good thing, though. I was falling asleep deeply, and I couldn't afford that, because I needed to go back to school. So I said goodbye to Joseph, and found a tremendous rush hour on my way back. I think the nap helped me endure the day. And it was so cool sleeping next to him.

Blablabla, fast forward to my free period at 5:30, in which my friends and I were having a snack outside campus and a bunch of black people arrived in a jeep. "Hey, those are the mayo guys!". There's a mayo commercial, about an explorer who finds a tribe of cannibals, etc. I think they were filming a commercial, how embarrasing for me if I make it on. But it was hilarious, they were dancing around and chasing the explorer guy. Frightening people, too, one scared Victoria. And we got free mayo. Yay.

And with free mayo, I wrap this entry up.

prev / next