This boy turns 14, this boy had coffee with me, etc.
Tuesday, 04/25/06 - 9:55 pm.

Holy shit, my nephew in Houston turns 14 today. FOURTEEN!!!!!!! HE'S FOURTEEN YEARS OLD. Shit, I'm going to cry. He was/is my first experience as an aunt, and I love him, and I hope whatever's wrong with him, it'll get better.

I spoke to him briefly tonight. He and his sister might be coming over in june, as usual. My brother thought for a while that it was best for him and for us that he didn't come, in case he had another crisis. But you see, even if it's been proved that's something constitutional (or appears to be), he only acts like that with his parents and sister. I insist that if there's a real problem, it's mostly an issue within his household, in the sense that the rest of the family has never been a victim of his violent reactions, perhaps because of our type of interactions. I don't know, we'll see. I think it'd be good for him to come and take a break.

For the time being, they're moving into a new house on friday, hopefully getting a bigger enviroment will be helpful to at least reduce the tension. My brother often told me, last time I was over, they felt their house was getting too crowded and too small for the four of them (parents and kids). Now they have a pool and a guest room. Yayness.

Change of subject. I saw Joseph today, it was just coffee and a quick trip to a toy departament...the only toy department in that mall, we realized! It's the mall he used to work at, before he changed job and drove (indirectly) his former place of work at that mall to bankruptcy. Badass, ain't he?

It was great seeing him (well, duh!). I needed a break from life, and he's always my comfort zone and makes me plainly happy. That silly guy, I love him so much. He said now we could get married, because I'm able to go look for him, and choose between having sex and having coffee, and either way we'll be completely happy with each other, knowing also that next time we'll pick the other option.

The rest of the day is blablabla about university. On tuesdays we have a meeting with the Comm. Psych. professor. Man, could she be any cooler? I don't think so. I ADORE the way she teaches, and I love these weekly meetings, because not only is to guide us on our work with the community, but it's also a space to release our frustrations, fears, sense of triumph, anything. It's pretty much a therapeutic conversation and they're a lot of fun.

Tomorrow...argh, I have to be on campus at 7:30, to support the child abuse workshop. Victor did it today, and I, on the other hand, rolled up under my sheets at 6:30 am, listening to the raindrops hitting my window. The first rainy morning of the year, and I only thought of my school days.

I have yet to begin studying for the Methods of Evaluation II midterm on thursday. All I ask for tomorrow is to be given time to study. Goddammit, lady, you'd better not give me a 200-page booklet to photocopy it entirely, like you did on monday.

About yesterday's nasty comments, I got two nice comments today. That made me feel...well, nice. Both commenters are very kind, and they actually always stick up for me. I appreciate it very much.

My schedule is full until sunday. But the details will be disclosed as the days go by, or else I'll collapse just by looking at it.

prev / next