Thinking of money and my beloved Frog.
Wednesday, 01/17/07 - 10:20 pm.

My legs are sore. I'm a loser and I only lasted three days swimming. For various reasons (all related to lack of time), my sister-in-law and I stopped going for the rest of the past week. I went tonight with my brother, but since I'm on the red spot, I used the machines. It was really cool, though, can't wait to do it again, tomorrow morning. But I'm sore!

It just occurred to me that my birthday is in a couple of days. I don't quite care. I'm not very thrilled by turning 22, I think it's a dull number. And lately, I've been longing for having a something-teen birthday again. I'm not nostalgic, really, and I guess it's normal...the usual longing for youth. But it's not bad, growing up. I enjoy adding up knowledge to my cognitive repertoire.

The only reason why I care about my birthday is because I'm hoping I'll get some money. I made a wishlist (for my eyes only), and it seems I'll have some money left after getting everything from it. But I want to take home as much money as possible, to rebuild my bank account. And perhaps I won't even get everything on my wishlist, to have even more. It's not much, though, what I want: a pair of shoes, chocolates for my friends ("friends") and my family, a lotion for Rose, two books and one or two t-shirts. I bought Joseph a t-shirt and a pair of boxers...I'm afraid that's all I'll get him. But hey, it was $15 for that. Things are quite expensive, and/or I'm poor.

Frog's matrix was removed yesterday. I've been holding in, but after reading the e-mail from my parents (how she was devastated after surgery) had me in tears. I'm torn, between wanting to be here, and wanting to go back, just to be with her. The "it's only a dog" reasoning doesn't apply to me. She's my friend, and I'm praying she'll make it through this, and I'll be able to see her again.

And...I guess that's all. Well, my niece had a tantrum, because she wanted to watch American Idol and my nephew needed the computer and the sound of the TV bothered him. Instead of going downstairs to watch it on the other TV, she refused to leave; my nephew insisted and she got mad to the point of throwing the remote and damaging the DVD player. I was at the gym with my brother, so I missed the pathetic scene.

It did upset that my brother was too nice to her when he came back, like she didn't do anything. I don't mean he had to yell at her, or anything...but at least I'd have kept her from watching TV for the rest of the evening, and said a word or two (I'm aware of her small attention span)about giving some things in return and taking care of things that are not just yours. But I say to myself, several times a day, I'm not this girl's parents; my share of responsability and experiencing of the consequences of the parenting are not too high (though that'll change a little in the week I'll be in charge). End of story.

End of entry, too.

prev / next