Nerd in a half shell, turtle power!
Saturday, 03/31/07 - 8:46 pm.

I never thought I'd see the day when another TMNT movie came out. I was kind of reluctant to see this one, and at first the new turtles freaked me out. But I went to see it today, and I was highly pleased.

If you want an objective opinion, though, don't ask me, for I am a hardcore fan.

I read reviews, most say it's not very good for this or that reason. My personal reasons: the intro is too long, and they ignored Donny and Mikey (but Leo is my favorite, so I'm not that sore), and some of the cleverness I love in their dialogues was lacking. April is NOT a ninja, and a non-ninja human being shouldn't be on the same rooftop - jumping - ability level as a turtle. On the bright side, mostly everything else.

You see, it's not for everybody. It might very well be stupid. Ah, fuck it. Fuck it, fuck it, fuck it. I don't see it with a critic's eye, thus, I can't wait until it comes out on DVD. I loved it.

And see, the greatest thing about superheroes is not who they fight, it's their own personal conflicts. I've always expected to see those explode in the turtle bunch. I can't get over the rooftop battle (err, well, there are a few of those; but one in particular).

I'm a motherfucking nerd.

Other news: I have an uncle that's dying and came to the house this afternoon, to apologize to my dad for years and years of harm he's done to him (that old family feud). Also, I saw Joseph last night, and he pissed me off, but made it up with french fries that I didn't expect.

The Hong Kong-based animation studio's animated fight scenes, including a rooftop battle in the midst of a rainstorm, are both beautiful and realistic. You forget you're watching a computer-animated feature. In a film about ninja turtles, you couldn't really ask for anything more.

Other than perhaps a sequel, that is.
Source.

Hell, yes!

prev / next