Updates, and my new therapist.
Wednesday, 04/18/07 - 9:25 pm.

Daaamn, I've been terrible at updating. It's a sign when someone unearths an old account just to leave you a note to tell you so (however, I feel appreciated).

I meant to write yesterday. No, really. I had an ugly day, mostly because I saw a dog get run over by a car, and I was so shocked that I kept saying "holy shit", and I started to cry while driving. It was a nightmare, I saw the dog's expression when he was hit.

On a lighter note, yesterday I also had the interview with my patient's mother at the clinic. She seems ok, she's definitely the other 10% of parents, those who have not brough problems upon their children (seriously, guys, you do not let your 8-year-old sleep in your and your spouse's bedroom and let the kid watch while you two have sex). I'm very excited, actually. A little nervous about meeting N., but a few years ago, I didn't think I'd enjoy being at the clinic.

I had my first midterm today! I'm a little confident, given it's Mr. Basket, but I'm afraid I will not get a perfect score (mhph, neurotic me). The other three subjects are the hardest, though, so by no means I feel relieved....yeah, ok, a little. I'll start worrying tomorrow.

My days are incredibly busy. Somehow I'm always going back and forth in campus. This afternoon, my boss gave me an unexpected task, that turned out to be "URGENT", and I had to postpone the pre-midterm studying I expected to do. The good news is I have a check coming out next week! Maybe two, if the university decides to pay me for march, and I've heard they do, for administrational purposes. And I got $40 worth of parking tickets, ohdearGod, thank You. That's like 100 tickets. You pay $0.60 every day ($0.50, if you're accompanied), or you pay $20 for a pre-paid roll that's like paying $0.40 per day, do the math. I won't. I just know it's good.

Speaking of my little job, it IS a job. I'm a real employee, with social security number and all that. But I'm doing something I used to do for free (well, for social service hours), my tasks are minimal and the flexibility is awesome. I cannot complain!

Oh, but I am! WrongGuy and I went to see the coordinator of the career (my brother used to be), she was my Communitary Psychology professor last year. She's very friendly and open, and she encouraged us instructors to write a letter, asking for some improvements in the cubicle. Come on, we have old desks and the drawers won't open, the place is HOT and we only have one fan, held together by masking tape. The other cubicles have better light, a phone line, a water dispenser, even lockers and computers. We look like an abandoned room, with roaches crawling the walls (I kid you not!). Why psychology is the neglected child of the university is beyond us. But we decided to try and change that.

Have I said I have a silly crush on WrongGuy? Well, he's just one of the funniest people I've ever met, that's all. And he's most enthusiastic about improving our working enviroment. It makes my day seeing him, I get happy when I do, because I know we'll make each other laugh out loud. That's one of the best feelings I can experiment.

And check this out, I made myself a therapist, because my Child and Adolescent Psychological Treatment professor said we must have a psychological process of our own. I was feeling lonely in the cubicle, after lunch (can't you tell?) and POOF, he came into my life. WrongGuy did a role-play with it today, to cheer up another instructor; she laughed so hard.

So were you dreaming of your boyfriend? What do you think your dream means? You were dreaming your boyfriend was dressed as a cockroach, weren't you, and you kicked him in your dream. That means you have a need of self-esteem to fulfill, and violence is in your genes. Treatment will be removing the violence gene and coming to see me for six years.

This therapist, named Emil Kraepelein is an eclectic one. Eclectic, actually, means you barely know about the theoretical basis of the psychological treatments and you use the techniques you remember at your own convenience. Or something along those lines.

Well, like I said, check it out...even though it bothers me the space at the left of the picture, I didn't realize it was there until I downloaded the picture to my computer, and I now have an urge to crop it. But check it out! And he's wearing converse.

There's more to come, as soon as we get more cans. We want a cognitive-behaviorist next.

Man, I used to think 5th year would be a drag, but I'm having the time of my life.

prev / next