Also, Allan Poe and I are birthday buddies.
Sunday, 01/20/08 - 9:24 pm.

Although somehow I felt my birthday was miserable, I can't complain. Sure, I spent it at home, alone, locked up, and working on my thesis. I sort of danced for a while, and I had raviolis, and I watched Sicko, which was pretty moving and scary. I went to bed thinking this was a very boring birthday, but I was in a good mood.

Because I got a lot of love, actually. I got a lot of greetings, as phone calls or online messages. Of course, my ENTIRE family in Houston gave me a call: parents and brothers 1 and 2, nephews...even my niece, from Colorado! It just so happened that my Sister In Law #1 was visiting her, and they were able to call me. Plus, brother 3 and wife, and my sister took me out for dinner tonight. Good times, I love being with them, and they got me a pretty backpack, it's so cool.

When it comes to friends, it was awesome, too. Joseph DID call. And then a few good old friends from school (Rod, Norm, Carmen, ObeseGirl, Angel, Mickey), and friends from university (Victor, Victoria, Irene, S, Sulley, Michelle), and Blackie. I might be forgetting a few, but with my family and friends, I was greeted by about 30 people. That's a lot, if you ask me. So yeah, I feel very lucky, and blessed.

Even though it was perhaps my most boring birthday, I wasn't lonely. There's all these people that care about me, from God (who's not quite a person per se, I realize) to my one-month old nephew (well, he doesn't *care* about me, at least not yet), amd everyone in between. I guess my birthday is, above all, an opportunity to send out many well-deserved thank-you's, for making my life as it is.

So thank you.

prev / next