Projects ahead.
Sunday, 03/09/08 - 9:39 pm.

I've been terrible at updating. Things keep coming up and I forget. I believe we left off where I was waiting for a scholarship announcement. It was announced, that Fulbright thing, and I moved quickly but in the end it turned out I didn't qualify because I didn't have my diploma yet. It was a punch to the stomach, but I recovered from it within a couple of hours. I did not let it get to me. I'm expecting another announcement in a couple of weeks.

(everybody asks me "why not Spain?", and it seems silly that I don't try; I bet I'd have a scholarship by now if I'd put Spain on my list...I feel kind of stupid, but also I put my foot down: I want it in this continent. Call it whatever you want, I say...I don't want to go THAT far away, and flying across the ocean scares me to death).

I've had a smooth week. Classes start tomorrow at the university and I'm THRILLED that I'm through with that part. I'll be a paid instructor, I'll see my patient, I'll work on my thesis, I'll ocasionally make extra money helping my boss with tests and reports...also, I have three projects aside.

One is gathering papers for my eventual applications to scholarships and universities. Take the TOEFL, get my transcripts, maybe take the GRE...having a heavier job than instructoring would come in handy, money-wise. My salary is going to the bank, because sooner or later I want to free my parents from supporting me, bless their souls. They wouldn't have it any other way, but I really feel a little ashamed of not supporting myself and being a bit more financially independent.

Anyway. My second project is Joseph. We're in a wonderful stage right now. He still doesn't have a job, which bothers me and he knows it...it seems in a couple of weeks he'll have something; we'll see. But other than that, we're great. Last night we were supposed to go to the movies with a friend of his and his potential girlfriend, but they never called. So we stayed home, had some bed-time (which also is getting better), and then we had hot dogs. I prepared them and we ate them while watching a documentary about The Divine Comedy in the kitchen.

Holy Week is next week, and he always attends those massive beach parties that last days. I remember when he appeared in the newspaper, in a centerfold collage. I didn't fear my parents would see him, because they'd skip those pages anyway and they weren't to look that close...plus, he was wearing sunglasses. He looked good, though. DAMN! Why didn't I keep that photo? I think it was because we were about to break up, or had broken up by then. Argh.

Anyway! I bring this Holy Week bussiness because yesterday he told me he wasn't going to go this year; he wants to spend that week with me. I'm in awe, because I know he likes to go. But he said he'd choose me over anything else without a doubt. Aaaaawww. I love this man.

And my third project is bringing Simeon back to life, once and for all. I'm running a few tests, I'll buy a fucking software for comic strips and maybe even a domain. When my mom pays me some money she borrowed from me, I'll start looking.

My eye has hurt the entire weekend. An uncle says it might be migraine. I've had this pain since last year, and I've put the trip to the doctor on hold. But it's about time. It's an ugly feeling, always circling my right eye and the right side of my forehead. Usually it hits when I'm stressed or tired. But I wasn't tired nor stressed this weekend.

I came to update and so I have.

prev / next